Bell X1 – check them out!

I don’t know why I took so long to give these guys a listen.  I’d been hearing the name here and there and never stopped to look.  So I looked recently.

Ever had a band that made you stop in your tracks?  Elbow did that to me in recent weeks.  These guys did but not for the same reason.

I thought Talking Heads had reformed.  When I heard his voice and the tune I was caught in a time warp.  Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad thing.  Just a wee bit of a surprise from this irish gem of a band.

I expect Bell X1 is quite sick of the comparison.  I wouldn’t blame them.  They bring something new to the table but it has its roots in my 80s roots.  the music is forward, not retro.

Give The Great Defector a listen.  There’s great literary references as well as some strange and interesting lyrics overall.  You can find the music on Youtube easily enough.  Give Bell X1 a few minutes of your time.  You won’t be sorry!

This entry was posted in General Commentary, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bell X1 – check them out!

  1. smirkdirk says:

    Here’s an MP3 link to Larry’s recommendation!

    [audio src="http://aolradio.podcast.aol.com/aolmusic/mp3s/Bell_X1_The_Great_Defector.mp3" /]

Leave a Reply

