The Killers – This is Your Life

Listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=46pKSylbdSc

Let’s face it. The Killers have done a grand job of burying themselves. Brandon Flowers got way too cocky way too fast. And the music has not kept up with the rhetoric in any way, shape or form.

Sam’s Town really did not connect in the way that Hot Fuss did and I found the direction they went regrettable. That combined with Brandon’s ‘this album will save the world’ attitude, it was lost.

When Day & Age was released, I saw some hope. I was still pissed but saw some potential. Human is a good but not great track. Spaceman was the same. I think sales have similarly reflected the lack of a ‘killer’ (sorry!) track. Now you may question why I’d even bother looking at this song. Well, I actually found the ‘killer’ (oh yes, I went there again!) track. Sadly this should have been the second single. This is a great piece.

Lyrics here, more below:

Candy talks to strangers
Thinks her life’s in danger
No one gives a damn about her hair
It’s lonely down on Track Street
She used to go by Jackie
The cops, they’ll steal your dreams and they’ll kill your prayers
Take a number where the blood just barely dried

Wait for something better
No one behind you
Watching your shadows
This feeling won’t go

Crooked wheels keep turning
Children, are you learning
Acclimatize but don’t you lose the plot
A history of blisters
Your brothers and your sisters
Somewhere in the pages we forgot

Take a number Jackie
Where the blood just barely dried
You know I’m on your side

Wait for something better
No one behind you
Watching your shadows
You gotta be stronger than the story
Don’t let it blind you
Rivers of shadow
This feeling wont go

And the sky is full of dreams
But you don’t know how to fly
I don’t have a simple answer
But I know that I could answer
There’s something better

This feeling won’t go
Wait for it
Wait for it
Wait for it
Wait for it

Why do I like this song? It feels real. It’s a story. A real story of pain and suffering, loss and a tinge of hope at the end. I like my darkness with just a spray of light. I’m not going to tear through the lyrics because the story is plain as day. This is THE track and I hope it gets out and people can connect to it and the band again.

It isn’t unusual for a band that hits huge with the first album to crash and burn. What I see in this one track is a future. If they can write like this and keep pushing I have faith they can show they are great. And if Brandon Flowers can keep his mouth shut and let his music show the greatness, maybe they can aspire to what they can be…a great band with a knack for a great and individual sound.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

