I’d Rather Go Blind – Black Dub (Trixie Whitley, Daniel Lanois, Brian Blade)

I found this song when someone had pointed out Daniel Lanois’ website. This was on the main page (I’m using the Youtube entry in case the main page changes). The band goes by the name Black Dub. This in studio version is literally stunning. I find songs that stun me here and there but this one blew me away.

Listen here:

Lyrics here, more below:
With my knife so dull
I’d kill it if I could
But only for the sake of this
Destruction, dysfunction, yeah

I’d rather go blind
Than be, be this
Misunderstood, yeah
I’d rather go blind
Than be, be this
Misunderstood, yeah

My ma keeps on telling me
You got the world in your hands ay
So much to give child
All I want is to take some distance
All I think is I know I should ooo

I’d rather go blind
Than be, be this
Misunderstood, yeah
I’d rather go blind
Than be, be this
Misunderstood, yeah

Brother knows
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child ya ya
Brother knows that
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child to him
Brother knows that
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child to him
Brother knows that
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child yah

Eating dirt all day long
Running with all the despair
This humanity, a vulture, blood suckers yah

I’d rather go blind
Than be, be this
Misunderstood, yeah
I’d rather go blind
Than be, be this
Misunderstood

Brother knows
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child ya ya
Brother knows that
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child to him
Brother knows that
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child ah ah
Brother knows that
I ain’t no
I ain’t no
No weakly child yah

Don’t get me wrong, these lyrics are excellent. But there’s just something about this song that drills right into me. The drums, the guitar and her voice seem to meld into a force of sound. Soul. Deep, dark and real. I could listen to this over and over. In the dark. Feeling the aural flow envelope me whole.

There’s a sense of smooth cool. A song of pain and a song of strength. The voice and words at odds with the music. As one part ebbs the other flows. And back again. I find myself wanting at the end. And by wanting I mean more. Consider me stuck on repeat for the time being.

Hard to go wrong with anything Danny Lanois is involved with. No exception here.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I’d Rather Go Blind – Black Dub (Trixie Whitley, Daniel Lanois, Brian Blade)

  1. Pingback: Agave – Black Dub | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  2. buddypilots says:

    I also feel this same about this song! I was first blown away by the Studio Brussel version above. I was looking for the lyrics when I found your blog. Trixie has an incredible voice and that something extra (soul supplement) that can really reach you straight to the heart.

    Good to see that so many people also like her songs…

    • larrylootsteen says:

      After all the time that has passed since I wrote the original post I have never tired of listening to it. Absolutely classic! Thanks for writing!

  3. Teresa says:

    I love the “Pieces” song and ” StrongBlood”. Trixie sings with so much feeling and emotion. Love, love, love her.

  4. ine says:

    trixie lives in my town!! love her voice..

  5. Jan Holvoet says:

    I ain’t no weeping child….

  6. Jenn Darlin' says:

    Also, I think the second line is…

    With my knife so dull
    I’d kill it if I could

    • deborah says:

      yeah, on the stripped down version you posted it really sounded to me like she says that…if it were my song, i’d be playing around with those lines….i like when artists mess about with their lyrics and keep letting them evolve. Art morphs~ its alive!

      • Jenn says:

        I’m usually not a lyrics person as I tend to get lost in the vocals, melody, rhythm and my reverie’s take over, however, there are certain songs where the lyrics actually grab me by the face and say, “LISTEN.” This was one of them, especially this version.

  7. Jenn Darlin' says:

    My favorite performance of this song…

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Wow, that is a great version!! I love the sparseness of it. Just that bit of plucking guitar just adding a tweak to that unbelievable sound that really seems to have no place coming out of that mouth. I swear she has the souls of all the greats in there. She is simply amazing.

      And yeah, I’ll change that line too. Thanks for both!!

    • deborah orandon says:

      I’m so crazy-excited, I’ll be seeing them Feb. 3 in a little theater!!!! Haven’t been this excited to see a band since….wow, decades?

  8. Carrie says:

    Love Black Dub, BUT you have to check out her before the album stuff. She is amazing and that is a total understatement

  9. larrylootsteen says:

    I’m pretty sure I got it from the Black Dub site but that was a long time back now.

    Steve, thanks for that. Should be nice to see the album drop finally!

  10. Steve says:

    I heard this on Milwaukee Public Radio about a year ago and have since been obsessed with with Black Dub. So glad the LP is on its way, even if it doesn’t have “I’d Rather Go Blind”….maybe Trixie will release it as a single? Either way, so glad this project has really kicked off. A tour on the way, and videos being released…awesome to see more people enjoying them. My buddy just sent me this video for ‘I Believe In You’:
    http://www.vevo.com/watch/black-dub/i-believe-in-you-live-off-the-floor/USZM21000080

    • deborah orandon says:

      The mp3 single was available at the beginning of the year, i got it from either Daniel Lanois’ site or Black Dub’s, don’t quite remember now. I can’t wait for the record!!!

  11. Amy Voelker says:

    Does anyone know where I can find the acoustic version as an mp3 download?

  12. larrylootsteen says:

    Thanks for noting that again. I had thought I had made those changes but now I see I didn’t…they are there now! Thanks Derrida and Deborah!

  13. Deborah says:

    PS–Listening to the mp3 download, I think I am hearing the lyrics a little differently, what do you think?

    With my knife so dull
    I can’t leave if I could
    But only for the sake of this
    Distruction, dysfunction, yeah

    (and)

    My ma keeps on telling me
    You got the world in your hands ay
    So much to give child
    All I want is to take some distance
    All I think is I know I should ooo

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Easily possible. I’m terrible at picking out the hard bits. I always hope someone will come along and correct. So thanks, you are likely right. I have shitty pc speakers to work with most of the time. So when I hit bits I don’t know, I best it out and hope! Good stuff, thanks!

  14. Deborah says:

    Thanks so much for posting these lyrics and talking about this amazing work!
    I have always had great respect and appreciation for Daniel Lanois, but the Black dub stuff just blows my mind. I can’t stop watching all the videos of their rehersals and because of their work have gone back and been listening with a fresh ear to Chris Whitley’s stuff–which I feel like I am opening to musically more and more now. It’s like I am working backwards. And like you said Karolina, this song is now in me. It feels like it is now in my blood, tranfused from their blood! I keep thinking about musical royalty–and what it must have been like for Trixie to just absorb the music, to have been around musicians and been encouraged to play and sing, grow & express from conception! She has probably known Daniel Lanois her whole life–and in this video the sheer beauty of the interactions among the musicians is pure art. It seems that what gets in the way of my own impluse to play is fear of that much exposure–but she has no fear, she just belts out her soul, and it is a beautiful, inspirational thing.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      I think one of Lanois’ strengths is the environment he creates for the artist. I think he opens the door and let’s them find their pulse. And Trixie must have been fearless. I remember reading about her and she was saying he went for coffee and said ‘have the song done when I get back’. She freaked but did it. No time to think, just play. Makes for a thing of beauty. Thanks for writing!

  15. Cole says:

    This is awesome…is that DL directing the magic? Incredible! “Yeah!!! That’s a nice take!” The girl’s definitely got soul, and it’s in her blood. I hear her papa in her voice. Thanks for posting….somehow I got linked to this while paying my respects to Jay Reatard on youtube. RIP.

  16. Lynn says:

    I heard this on the radio last night and was mesmerized. I found your blog when I Googled the lyrics this morning. Thanks for posting.

  17. Karolina says:

    gorgeous

  18. Karolina says:

    I feel this same about this song! love lives is georgous also. I can’t just sit, it’s inside me.

Leave a Reply

