Hearing Damage – Thom Yorke

Listen here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXwyE0IrA2M

If you know me at all, you’ll know I love Radiohead.  Thom Yorke, their front man, has this spectacularly ethereal voice.  And it conveys all sorts of different emotions.

Lyrics here, more below:

A tear in my brain
Allows the voices in
They wanna push you off the path
With their frequency wires

And you can do no wrong
In my eyes
In my eyes
You can do no wrong
In my eyes
In my eyes

A drunken salesman
Your hearing damage
Your mind is restless
They say you’re getting better
But you don’t feel any better

Your speakers are blowing
Your ears are wrecking
Your hearing damage
You wish you felt better
You wish you felt better

You can do no wrong
In my eyes
In my eyes
You can do no wrong
In my eyes
In my eyes
In my

In my eyes
In my eyes
In my eyes

Bearing in mind that this track is on the Twilight sequel New Moon soundtrack.  I have absolutely no idea where this music is used in the movie nor do I know the story well enough to guess.  That said, the lyrics do have something to say.

The opening bit is telling us that he is damaged.  He has problems.  Almost an apology for how he feels.  And an explanation for how he feels about her.  And because he thinks she is perfect, he is deluded on how things will go.

And as much as she is perfect to him, she is damaged too.  She doesn’t listen.  Even when she is being sold a pile of crap, she doesn’t see.  And despite this, he loves her.

As I listen to that voice, floating through my brain, I can feel the tension both in the music and the story.  Two people who may or may not be good for each other, blinded to the fact that they may not be good for each other.  You can feel them circling each other, pushing and pulling.

And listening to the opening, it almost felt like a dark nod to another band who did wonders with darkness and influenced a generation of bands.  That being Joy Division.  Especially during that opening sequence I felt like I was listening to Ian Curtis instead of Thom Yorke.  Just a bit of dark brilliance, understated and still being fully stated.

Give this one some time if it doesn’t grab you right away.  There’s more than meets the eye on this one.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

