No Sound But the Wind – Editors

Listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7aMfB6nwQw

Here’s another band I’ve been following for a few years. The first song I heard by them was Munich, which I couldn’t stop playing. Another big league single for them was Smokers Outside the Hospital. Check these two tracks out at least. You won’t be sorry.

Lyrics here, more below:
We can never go home
We no longer have one
I’ll help you carry the load
I’ll carry you in my arms
The kiss of the snow
The crescent moon above us
Our blood is cold
And we’re alone
But I’m alone with you

Help me to carry the fire
We will keep it alight together
Help me to carry the fire
It will light our way forever

If I say shut your eyes
If I say look away
Bury your face in my shoulder
Think of a birthday
The things you put in your head
They will stay here forever
Our blood is cold
And we’re alone, love
But I’m alone with you

Help me to carry the fire
We will keep it alight together
Help me to carry the fire
It will light our way forever

Help me to carry the fire
We will keep it alight together
Now help me to carry the fire
It will light up our way forever

If I say shut your eyes
If I say shut your eyes
Bury me in suprise
Where I say shut your eyes

Help me to carry the fire
We will keep it alight together
Help me carry the fire
It will light our way forever

I have to say I’m fond of music that doesn’t follow the mainstream. As love songs go this is no exception. His voice is so different and he takes great pains to keep the edge on this song.

I got a bit lost trying to figure out what this spoke when I listened to it. It finally dawned on me that this felt more like opera than rock or alt rock or whatever you want to call it. It has that distinct operatic feel to me. The lyrics alone are brilliant but he brings that darkness with his voice. There’s a sense of high powered drama coming off of it.

Not sure how the New Moon/Twilight crowd will receive this particular track. But kudos to the production for going out and getting some amazing bands and amazing music (Thom Yorke, Death Cab, Muse and many more). The first Twilight movie was made for me hearing Supermassive Black Hole by Muse during the baseball scene. Classic!

So keep an eye on Editors. This will only enhance their exposure. I look forward to future of this band.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Sound But the Wind – Editors

  1. Wind says:

    If this studio version has an operatic feel, try listening to the original. The lyrics and tone are much darker, and the pace is significantly slower.

    I think these lyrics fit nicely with the ‘eternal’ theme.

Leave a Reply

