Berlin, Without Return – Voxtrot

Listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FkW1FX7cbxs

I ran across this band in the last few weeks listening to some alternative online radio station. I’m finding more and more music I love by going online and avoiding regular stations.

This is a very impressive track. Kind of a mix of pop and alternative to me. Great hook but has a musical edge to it that I love. Some great orchestration towards the end.

Lyrics here, more below:
(intro a German couple’s conversation in German – not sure if it’s from a movie)
Do you spend your whole life
Trying to get back home?
Where do you go?
Keeno eyes unfold you in a kodachrome
And your feelings show

Wadda you know, baby?
Wadda you know?
Wadda you know
About where I come from?
Wadda you know, tell me?
Wadda you know
About who I am?

When I see you naked
I see more than flesh
Do you see the same thing?

Entertainment value
No I couldn’t care less
The feelings hide

And you were so young, baby
You were so young
Dragging your feet
In the face of creation
I was so young yah
We were so young
And still there was you
Center of me
Always said there was you
Center of me

I don’t know you, baby
You don’t know me
We were just victims
Of the same situation

Babies been born
Tell me what you’d die for
We were just born
To miss this life

Could we please get married?
Take this just for us
The way we would do

It doesn’t make much sense
But maybe nothing does
And never will

And these gifts keep turning
These lives keep burning
And the love keeps changing around you
Stuck in one place
Painting your face
The colour of milk
The colour of sky
The colours of you
The colours don’t lie

I don’t know you, baby
You don’t know me
We were just victims
Of the same situation

Babies been born
Tell me what you’d die for
Then just grow cold
But the feeling stays

(Some more German conversation)

And what do you know?
Tell me, what do you know?
You don’t know me
Don’t you question my love

And what do you know?
Tell me, what do you know?
You don’t know me
Don’t you question my love

(Echoing German)

Such a bizarre and interesting collection of lyrics. They give off the sense of a couple circling each other. Always wanting, trying to connect but perhaps never able to. As I listened to this over and over I began to wonder if they had a baby that died and that’s the shaft that keeps driving between them. Hard to say. But that’s half the fun isn’t it? Listening, feeling and watching the colours change as you do.

Keep your eye out for this Texas indie gem!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Berlin, Without Return – Voxtrot

  1. Pingback: Trepanation Party – Voxtrot | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

Leave a Reply

