The Step and The Walk – The Duke Spirit

Listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBK9P2AEBjA

Another band I’ve started paying attention to in the last year or so. The first song I heard by them was Send a Little Love Token, another great song.

Lyrics here, more below:
Ten english pounds and these hot pavement fields,
As though I’m moving to the end, am I moving to the end of your loving?

How, how did I do this?
Me, I put the water on my heart.
Why didn’t I notice such cold detachment from the start?
Oh, the joys they slammed down and the one in this town was bright enough.

Without joy, joy, joy in the rain I could feel forever the same.
Without joy, joy, joy in the rain I could feel forever the same.

So how, how did I do this?
Oh, me I put that box around my heart.
Why couldn’t I notice such cool detachment from the start?
Oh, the joys they slammed down from the one in this town is bright enough.

Without joy, joy, joy in the rain I could feel forever the same.
Without joy, joy, joy in the rain, yeah I could feel forever the same.

Without joy, joy, joy in the rain I could be forever the same.
Without joy, joy, joy in the rain, yeah I could feel forever the same.
Without joy, joy, joy in the rain, oh I could feel forever the same.
Without joy, joy, joy in the rain I could feel forever the same.

So what is it about this song? For me it has that 50’s/60’s elastic cool groove. Just so smooth. And her voice just oozes. I love the whole sound of this song, even without the lyrics, which are interesting in their own right.

Talking about the end of a relationship, she is doing the standard retrospective. Why didn’t I know? Why didn’t I see. And realizing that joy is need throughout to last. I love the imagery of the water and the box. And I love the line ‘cool detachment from the start’!

Keep an eye on this band…

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

