Magic – Ladyhawke

Listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xy3t6dDyXHg

Ladyhawke is based out of New Zealand and really has something going on. I chose Magic as a reference only because this is the song that gets me moving. You should also check out her other singles Paris is Burning, Back of the Van, Dusk Till Dawn and her major hit My Delirium. All worth a listen or 12.

Lyrics here, more below:
You came to my show, and I saw you in the crowd
I didn’t know your name, I didn’t know your name
I asked all my friends who you were and your story
They told me the same, they told me the same

I’ve left my heart to you, but it’s not fair
Coz you’re taking me for granted baby
I made a start with you, but it’s not fair
Coz you’re over the Atlantic baby
One journey for you but it’s worth it
One life here with me and it’s magic
One journey for you, but it’s worth it
One life here with me and it’s magic

You stayed in my head where I saw you all the time
I didn’t think you care, I didn’t think you care
I found you one day with a mouth full of attitude
And you stole me away, you stole me away

I’ve left my heart to you, but it’s not fair
Coz you’re taking me for granted baby
I made a start with you, but it’s not fair
Coz you’re over the Atlantic baby
One journey for you but it’s worth it
One life here with me and it’s magic
One journey for you, but it’s worth it
One life here with me and it’s magic

Coz your over the Atlantic baby
And you’re taking me for granted baby
Coz you’re over the Atlantic baby

One journey for you but it’s worth it
One life here with me and it’s magic x5

You can call this a typical love song lyrically. What I find interesting about this song is, despite the negativity and the hurt she shows, the music says ‘hey! I’m okay. You’re the one missing out!’. I like the fact the woman is strong, stoic and willing to acknowledge the pain but not willing to be devastated by the man. As it should be!

I just love the beat to this song. Great music!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

