By The Grace

Was it a coincidence?
A confluence of elements
That brought me here today
Weary with the sentiments

Was it merely a slight of hand?
A tweak of magical mysticism
With which I followed the map
Viewed with an eye to skepticism

Was it a toss of coin
The sheerness of luck, of chance
Either fork an option
Or did my feet know in advance?

The questions come
Those of the ages
Meaning and purpose
Poets and sages
Was it by the grace of God?
Was it by the grace of love?
Was it pure sense of space?
We plead, ponder and turn the pages

Was it all predetermined?
Was there a defining hand
As I turned and twisted
Did I know the tune and the band?

As I walked through fire
The questions burned
The smoke spelled out my name
Coughed, choked, my mind churned

Seems I always ask the questions
Without the straightforward answers
My road is always winding
The results a hawkwind dancer

The questions come
Those of the ages
Meaning and purpose
Poets and sages
Was it by the grace of man?
Was it by the grace of soul?
Was it pure sense of pace?
We beg, bluster and turn the pages

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to By The Grace

  1. Wind says:

    The real truth is Larry, it was the black lace undies and bra.

  2. enreal says:

    this was absolutely beautiful. i truly enjoyed this. thanks

Leave a Reply

