I Belong To You – Muse

Listen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMQuOkQyezU

I hope people like this particular version of the song. The only version I’d heard until recently did not include the interlude. The original title listing for the song was I Belong To You (Mon Coeur S’Ouvre A Ta Voix). The french there translates as ‘my heart opens itself to your voice’.

Lyrics here (including the interlude), more below:
When these pillars get pulled down
It will be you who wears the crown
And I’ll owe everything to you

How much pain has cracked your soul?
How much love would make you whole?
You’re my guiding lightning strike

I can’t find the words to say
They’re overdue
I’ve traveled half the world to say
I belong to you

And she attacks me like a Leo
When my heart is split like Rio
But I assure you my debts are real

I can’t find the words to say
When I’m confused
I’ve traveled half the world to say
You are my muse

Ah!
Réponds, (Answer!)
Réponds à ma tendresse (Answer my affection)
Verse-moi, verse-moi l’ivresse! (Pour me, pour me a drink!)
Réponds à ma tendresse! (Answer my love!)
Réponds à ma tendresse! (Answer my love!)

Ah!
Verse-moi l’ivresse! (Ah! Pour me a drink!)
Verse-moi, verse-moi l’ivresse! (Pour me, pour me a drink!)
Réponds à ma tendresse! (Answer my love!)
Réponds à ma tendresse! (Answer my love!)

Ah!
Verse-moi l’ivresse! (Ah! Pour me a drink!)

I belong I belong to you alone

I can’t find the words to say
They’re overdue
I’ve traveled half the world to say
I belong to you

Thanks to musewiki.org for the translated lyrics.

This is another song that is included on the New Moon soundtrack. And while the song wasn’t written for the movie, it fits the love story line very well.

What I found of particular interest was the interlude, which is amazing. And it turns out it is an extraction from an opera, which isn’t hard to tell in the way he sings it. The words are from Samson and Delilah…yes, another love story for the ages!

The thing I love about Muse is that, unlike many bands, they don’t write their songs to fit a market, like the US. Sure Americans are highly unlikely to hear the interlude version, but I love the writing for themselves.

I won’t examine the actual lyrics. They speak for themselves. What I do love about the words here is the step away to less obvious vocabulary and pacing. It really works. And throw in some opera and that great horn section after the interlude and you what is truly an amazing song.

Any wonder I love this band? Hope you do, or will, if you don’t already.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

