The Spectator – The Bravery

Listen here:

I’ve been following the Bravery for a few years now. An Honest Mistake was the first song I heard by them and they’ve done well in North America. An Honest Mistake and Believe are two songs you may have heard by them. This song is off their new release Stir the Blood.

Lyrics here, more below:
The birds are up when he collapses through the door
Spilling out in constellations on the floor
Soaked in liquor he’s soft as bread …
And everything that’s left of him to beckon to his bed

He is a nocturnal always alone
But you’ll speak in secret codes
That he has never known
In this world, but not of it
So he watches from above it
A visitor here, this is not home

Chorus
I am the spectator
I can see the world passing by from here
I am just a child, to a man
Back to the dust where i began
I was never even here at all
I am the spectator
I am the spectator

His eyes, like two cats, scratching in his head
Begging him for sleep, starving for a bed
But sleep, it never comes
so he ticks the time away
Hour after hour, hear them play their bells go

Chime chime chime, ticking ticking time (x2)

Chorus
I am the spectator
I can see the world passing by from here
I am just a child, to a man
Back to the dust where i began
I was never even here at all
I am the spectator
I am the spectator
I am the spectator

And the bells go
Chime chime chime, ticking ticking time (x3)

Chorus
I am the spectator
I can see the world passing by from here
I am just a child, to a man
Back to the dust where i began
I was never even here at all
I am the spectator
I am the spectator
I am the spectator

The lyrics for this are endlessly interesting to me as they provide possibilities within them. And naturally that means the meaning can drift and change as you listen. I love lyrics that leave you possibilities. Songs that can change with you. This one in particular has a strange magnetism to it. If you know me, the darkness always beckons musically.

As I listen to this I can see the man as many things, including alcoholic or ghost. Is he dead and unable to move on because of what he’s done? Is he watching because that’s his destiny for all time? Or is he inside himself watching as he’s messed everything up? Unable to change anything, the mistakes pile on.

Or you go ethereal with it and he is some sort of entity, watching over. Good? Evil? Tormented by the mess he sees or working hard to make it? Ahhh, the possibilities! Enjoy this one! The band has consistently delivered…for me anyway!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

