Oxygen – Living Things

Listen here:

This song just grabbed me from the beat right off the bat. Great vocal hook. I’ll definitely be looking at more from this band. This is the type of song that I really get up for.

Lyrics here, more below:
Stop playing Jesus, Judas disguised,
I know you fake it all the time.
One love to my love, One compromise,
I know your blood tastes like wine.

And if I breathe in for you,
can your heart shine through?
The only pain is to feel none at all.
And if we stay here tonight,
under the moonlit sky, will we breathe in,
or will our hearts just fade away?
Well you take away my oxygen.

Tonight we’re loveless, help cries above.
We try to forget our love.
I let you down now, poisoned your lips,
will this be our last kiss?

And if I breathe in for you,
can your heart shine through?
The only pain is to feel none at all.
And if we stay here tonight, under the moonlit sky,
will we breathe in, or will our hearts just fade away?
Well you take away my oxygen.

And if I breathe in for you,
can your heart shine through?
The only pain is to feel none at all.
And if we stay here tonight, under the moonlit sky,
will we breathe in, or will our hearts just fade away?
Well you take away, you take away, you take away my oxygen.

Interesting isn’t it? A love song, questioning love, using Jesus and Judas as reference points. Mirroring a couple’s love, questioned loyalty to the Bible’s most famous betrayal. And the lyrics are just convoluted enough to keep you questioning!

Love is an interesting topic. I’ll have more to say, with Valentine’s Day approaching, on that!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

