Got Nuffin – Spoon

Listen here:

Spoon has been around a lot longer than I realized. They had quite a trek from early Texas to today. But they have some quality tracks. I’ve know this band since 2003 or so. The Way We Get By was the first song from them I knew. Also The Underdog and You Got Yr Cherry Bomb came to my attention. This particular song came from the mid-2009 EP.

Lyrics here, more below:
When I´m with you all my brothers oh
I feel like a king
It feels like I´m dreaming

When that blood goes rattling through my veins
My ears start to ring
I notice what matters

And I got nothing to lose but darkness and shadows
Got nothing to lose but bitterness and patterns

When I can´t find the way to reach you my love
I´m just not the same
Just the same

When I know you´re watching out for me
I know what I´m knowing
I can see what matters

And I got nothing to lose but darkness and shadows
Got nothing to lose but emptiness and hang-ups
Oooo

Oh when I know you´re watching out for me
I look for what matters
And I notice what matters

And I got nothing to lose but darkness and shadows
Got nothing to lose but loneliness and patterns

The flowers blooming the trains collide
Ahhh
I don´t got a thing to lose

It’s a great upbeat song. The lyrics almost have a visceral feel to them. Like they were written without regard to a distinct story but rather an emotion. It seems to point to taking chances and hoping to find something more. I have a feeling this band will continue to grow and surprise.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got Nuffin – Spoon

  1. smirkdirk says:

    Hey Canadian, Me wants an Olympic post, Pronto!

Leave a Reply

