Crystalised – The XX

Listen here:

So these guys are pretty new. Formed in 2005. First album came out mid last year. Pretty impressive song this! A depth of both lyric and music that I can appreciate. And so young. I’m hoping for more from this crew. If they stay true to what they are doing, they could go a long way.

Lyrics here, more below:
You’ve applied the pressure
To have me crystalised
And you’ve got the faith
That I could bring paradise

I’ll forgive and forget
Before I’m paralysed
Do I have to keep up the pace
To keep you satisfied

Things have gotten closer to the sun
And I’ve done things in small doses
So don’t think that I’m pushing you away
When you’re the one that I’ve kept closest

[ahh ahh ahh] x4

You don’t move slow
Taking steps in my directions
The sound resounds, echo
Does it lessen your affection
No

You say I’m foolish
For pushing this aside
But burn down our home
I won’t leave alive

Glaciers have melted to the sea
I wish the tide would take me over
I’ve been down on my knees
And you just keep on getting closer

[ahh ahh ahh] x4

Glaciers have melted to the sea (Things have gotten closer to the sun)
I wish the tide would take me over (And I’ve done things in small doses)
I’ve been down onto my knees (So don’t think that I’m pushing you away)
And you just keep on getting closer (When you’re the one that I’ve kept closest)

Go slow x5

I’m simply going to ignore any potential view of this as some sort of personal relationship song and skip straight to the whole God thing. For me that is all this is about. Faith. Expectations. Commitment. The question is whether the writer is talking to God or as God. Interesting little twist in view.

I can easily take the swing that God is talking. The idea of being crystalised is simply perfect. Is a living God a steady state being without flux? That is the view of many. But if God is out there, why would he/she be the only thing ever to remain the same? So the hardened crystal reflecting, presenting many faces but always the same at heart is perfectly boring. And I love the way the lyrics almost present both views, the faith giver and the faith receiver.

I love this! I want more!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crystalised – The XX

  1. Pingback: Angels – The xx | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  2. Natalia says:

    It is one of those songs that doesn’t leave you anymore.. because it is all…

  3. larrylootsteen says:

    It was one of those songs I listened to without hearing the first few times. Caught my ear without sinking in immediately. When I spent a few minutes with the words it came on strong and I loved it!

  4. enreal says:

    very haunting words and music. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

