Silvia – Miike Snow

Watch/Listen here:

This is one of those songs that grabbed me right away. I always like a song with a bit of a slow build. A lot of elements around this work together. This Swedish band shows some real potential.

Lyrics here, more below:
Reach the city steps tonight
Following the power lines

At a man beside
With eclipses for eyes
And you tell yourself
You won’t let them touch
Did I say too much?
Did I say enough?
I don’t know
Silvia
I don’t know
Silvia

Circle round the room still
Often breaking my will

Know I can’t have you here
Someone else on your skin

And its all my fault
For not getting off
So you made it start
Can you make it stop?
You don’t know
Silvia
You don’t know
Silvia

Damn me
Damn me

Reach the city steps tonight
Following the power lines

And your skin is so right
Underneath the black night

And your voice cries out
For the Coup de Grace
And the lights go out
Will there be a trace?
That I loved
Silvia
That I loved
Silvia
That I loved
Silvia

Tell me ahh
That I loved
Silvia

This comes across as your typical ‘love lost’ storyline. What makes it interesting is how the words are presented. That makes the story particularly interesting even if it is as common a song theme as there ever was. Definitely the story of a man who is trying to move on without success. Still an amazing track that I can’t get out of my head…

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Silvia – Miike Snow

  1. enreal says:

    This was a great song! and I am partial to the name silvia

  2. n/a says:

    Really, this song-poem has something…like one interconnected symphony- echoe , like the typical named song that you cannot leave indeed…

  3. smirkdirk says:

    Listened as I worked and wasn’t thinking much of it until I glanced up at the screen and took a gander at the video. Nice photography and well-directed.

Leave a Reply

