Smoke In Your Disguise – New Roman Times

Listen here:

This is pretty new stuff. Something about it caught my ear the first time I heard it. It has a very vague 80’s feel to it but really this comes across as total indie music. I really think this band is worth checking out.

Lyrics here, more below:
Your youth is tied
To carrying
All you suffered for what you break
You’ve made room in your heart
But that’s not what you needed

I’ve been the last one in line
And the first to criticize
The tear in your goodbye

But you are
You’re breaking my heart
You are
You’re breaking my heart
You are
You’re breaking my heart
But before we begin
We need to learn how to start

I’ll send a lifeline
To get you free
There’s no time for memories
I know how to let you down
And that’s just what you hated

I’ve been there
Right from the start
I’ll be there when you fall apart
I am the smoke
In your disguise

But you are
You’re breaking my heart
You are
You’re breaking my heart
And you are
You’re breaking my heart

But before we begin
Yes before we begin
My love
My love
My love
My love

So yeah, typical love song. We love each other but you hate me too. Bad timing? Bad chemistry? Whatever…just enjoy a really great song! The imagery of the man being willing to help her hide from her own feelings and willing to be there when she finally breaks is beautiful.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smoke In Your Disguise – New Roman Times

  1. zoha says:

    i dnt know why this song is so much liked by me… But i think somehow it touches me… Thanx 4 posting the explanation…:)

  2. Love bhat says:

    Awesome Song…!! Love it….<3

  3. Kyle says:

    Very great song. Really makes me wonder why it isn’t that widely known.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      It is a great song. I have found many songs that never seem to make the radio or get advertised enough (many of these are posted in this blog). Sometimes I think the corporate culture of radio is in a bad place and only plays what they want us to hear. There is SO much stuff out there we never, or rarely, hear! Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

