Dizzy – Jimmy Eat World

Listen here:

I’ve been listening to this one for quite a while. It didn’t really tweak my psyche until a couple of months ago. Now I can’t stop listening to it. I love when that happens. This band falls more into the mainstream than most of the music I write about. But that should never stop a great song from being heard.

Lyrics here, more below:
You close your eyes and kiss your hand then you blow it.
But it isn’t meant for me, and I notice
If the choice was ours alone,
Then why’d we both choose letting go?
Does it end like this?

Time never had a chance to heal your heart
Just a number always counting down to a new start
If you always knew the truth
Then the world would spin around you
Are you dizzy yet?

Respectfully, so honestly I’m calling out
Do you hear the conversation
We talk about?
I’ll back away to the safety of a quiet house
If there’s half a chance in this moment
When your eyes meet mine, we show it off.

All talk and not a lot to think, we were living dreams
And shame never crept close
To our naked feet
If there’s something left to lose,
Then don’t let me wear out my shoes
I’m still walking.

I tried, but it rang and rang, I called all night
On a payphone,
Remember those from another life?
If everything I meant to you,
You can lick and seal then fold in two
Then I’ve been so blind.

Respectfully, so honestly I’m calling out
Do you hear the conversation
We talk about?
I’ll back away to the safety of a quiet house
If there’s half a chance in this moment
When your eyes meet mine, we show it off.

Oh, oh take it all back, take your first, your last, your only.
Oh, oh take it all back, take it all back,
Everything you showed me.
Oh, oh this must be how it feels
When the feeling goes oooohhhh

I told you as I hovered, I never felt this way
You said I have the shot that stops my clock
Baby it’s OK
You said you’d never have regrets
Jesus, is there someone yet
Who got that wish?
Did you get yours, babe?

Respectfully, so honestly I’m calling out
Do you hear the conversation
We talk about?
I’ll back away to the safety of a quiet house
If there’s half a chance in this moment
When your eyes meet mine, we show it off.
Off
Off
Off

Okay, so there are parts of that song that just rip into me. The whole verse at the end that starts ‘I told you as I hovered’ is the kill shot for me. I can feel and hear the pain of loss as he discovers the love he feels, perhaps for the first time, is not returned. He calls her out but it’s killing him as he does it. Man, what a song!! And if this doesn’t grab you right away, give it some time…you won’t regret it!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

