The District Sleeps Alone Tonight – The Postal Service

Listen/watch here:

Funny how you run across things. I’m doing my usual song searches and I hear what I think is Death Cab for Cutie. I’m thinking, wow, that’s new. Unfortunately that’s old. But my ears didn’t lie. The Postal Service was a side project for Ben Gibbard from Death Cab. Stick with this song, it builds very slowly but brilliantly.

Lyrics here, more below:
Smeared black ink
Your palms are sweaty
I’m barely listening to last demands
I’m staring at the asphalt wondering
What’s buried underneath
Where I am
Where I am

I’ll wear my badge
A vinyl sticker with big block letters
Adhering to my chest
Tells your new friends
I am a visitor here
I am not permanent
And the only thing keeping me dry is
Where I am

You seem so out of context
In this gaudy apartment complex
A stranger with your door key
Explaining that I’m just visiting
I am finally seeing
Why I was the one worth leaving
Why I was the one worth leaving

D.C. sleeps alone tonight

(Where I am)
You seem so out of context
In this gaudy apartment complex
(Where I am)
A stranger with your door key
Explaining that I’m just visiting
(Where I am)
And I am finally seeing
Why I was the one worth leaving
Why I was the one worth leaving

(Where I am)
The District sleeps alone tonight
After the bars turn out their lights
(Where I am)
And send the autos swerving
Into the loneliest evening
(Where I am)
And I am finally seeing
Why I was the one worth leaving
Why I was the one worth leaving
Why I was the one worth leaving
Why I was the one worth leaving

In some ways I think the way they set both the tone and the location for this song adds to the feeling of it. Finally seeing why I was the one worth leaving. What a devastating statement. It’s brilliant angst and heartache and something Ben Gibbard manages to bring that amazing voice of his to perfectly. When I heard this song I played it over and over. Still am. Sad we won’t likely see anything else from this group. I think Death Cab is keeping Ben a bit busy!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The District Sleeps Alone Tonight – The Postal Service

  1. enreal says:

    this is a good song. when ever i come across music on other peoples blogs I listen…. broadens my horizon. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

