Ready To Start – Arcade Fire

Listen here:

This is the first single from Arcade Fire’s latest album The Suburbs which comes out August 2nd. I just heard this yesterday and had to post it. For long time fans, this song and the other tracks I’ve heard will not disappoint. For those of you who do not know this band you should invest some time. These guys have quite the following. U2 fans will recall that during the Vertigo tour, the band walked out to AF’s song Wake Up.

Lyrics here, more below:
Business men drink my blood
Like the kids in our school said they would
And I guess I’ll just begin again
You say ‘could we still be friends’?

If I was scared
I would
And if I was bored
You know I would
And if I was yours
But I’m not

All the kids have always known
That the emperor wears no clothes
But they bow down to him anyway
Cause it’s better than being alone

If I was scared
I would
And if I was bored
You know I would
And if I was yours
But I’m not

Now you’re knocking at my door
Saying ‘please come out with us tonight’
But I would rather be alone
Then pretend I feel alright

If the business men drink my blood
Like the kids in our school said they would
Then I guess I’ll just begin again
You say ‘can we still be friends’?

If I was scared
I would
And if I was pure
You know I would
And if I was yours
But I’m not

Now I’m ready to start!

If I was scared
I would
And if I was pure
You know I would
And if I was yours
But I’m not

Now I’m ready to start!

Now I’m ready to start

I would rather be wrong
And live in the shadows of your song
My mind is open wide
And now I’m ready to start

Now I’m ready to start

My mind is open wide
And now I’m ready to start
You’re not sure
You open the door
And step out into the dark
Now I’m ready to…

These are great lyrics and to me speak of someone who is not ready to give in to pressure. Not ready to be manipulated. I think he wants the relationship but wants it on his own terms…not just because the opening is there. And in the end, he pushes that back onto her. Asking if she’s ready to take the leap. Okay I’m sure and now, are you? I look at ‘business men drink my blood’ as a nod to how manipulated we are in life. And I love using the emperor’s new clothes story to talk about how we follow so we won’t be alone.

I’m constantly amazed at how much people are uneasy with themselves. I think people are really not in touch with who they are and they spend all their time distracted and never get to know themselves. You wonder why relationships fall apart so quickly and so often? This has a lot to do with it. And this song talks to it. It’s about knowing what you need and when you are truly ready. The song ends with you wondering if she’s ready to take that ‘step in the dark’.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready To Start – Arcade Fire

  1. games boy says:

    So great article. I enjoyed reading it.

  2. I love your interpretation. Touche to what you say about our conformist society. I enjoyed the post. Thank you, Jacqui

Leave a Reply

