Clear Skies – Keane

Listen here:

This is from the new album titled Night Train. I’ve always liked Keane but I think they’ve been a little guilty of sounded the same a lot of the time. Tons of great songs along the way anyway. I love this song in particular because it feels a little more out there…different, risky.

Lyrics here, more below:
High on the bell tower
I took my view
Over the downtowns
On the avenues

Where the streets are wide
And the people thrive
And its further to fall down
Cause you fly so high

I’ve never seen such a beauty
I’ve never seen such clear skies
I’ve never seen such high hopes
I’ve never seen such tired eyes

And I wish that I could be
Everything you are
Everything you are

Down in the delta
The city wakes
Turns on the TV
As the levy breaks

Where the streets are burnt
By the summer sun
And there’s nowhere to run to
When your time has come

I’ve never seen such a beauty
I’ve never seen such clear skies
I’ve never seen such high hopes
I’ve never seen such tired eyes

Pull the roots up piece by piece
Felt life watching over me
Take my pills and I went to sleep
Oh, and I sang myself to sleep

And I wish that I could be
Everything you are
Everything you are

And I wish that I could see
The world the way you do
As selfishly as you

And I wish that I could be
Everything you are
Everything you are

And I wish that I could stake
My faith the way you do
As certainly as you

Clear sky’s gonna to fall on you
Clear sky’s gonna to fall on you
Clear sky’s gonna to fall on you
Clear sky’s gonna to fall on you

I love the way the words play out here. Battling off between hope and despair. My favourite line is ‘I’ve never seen such tired eyes’. Just brilliant! And he uses Katrina/New Orleans as that play off on a city of hope and beauty and terrible poverty with the destruction and rebuilding. Ultimately I think this more a battle over points of view. In the end he cannot reconcile that faith against what he sees as reality.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

