By Some Miracle – Philip Selway

Listen here:

Philip Selway is likely a name you don’t know. You have likely heard him play many, many times. He is the drummer for Radiohead and this is his first solo effort. I think this first single from Familial (due out in August) is quite brilliant and the title seems somehow appropriate with my previous blog entry!

Lyrics here, more below:
1, 2, 3, 4

As I gave in to temptation
I’ve straightened across the line
Keep it under wraps in the cold store
Put it to the back of your mind
Put it to the back of your mind

But by some miracle
I’ve just got away with it
I’ve clawed it back again
By some miracle
I’ve just got away with it
I’ve clawed it back
I’m crawling back again

As a black dog down in the basement
Is barking out my name
Snapping at my heels when I falter
Kick it but it won’t go away
Kick it but it won’t go away

But by some miracle
I’ve just got away with it
I’ve clawed it back again
But by some miracle
I’ve just got away with it
I’ve clawed it back
I’m crawling back again

Put it back, put it back, put it where you found it
Put it back, put it back, put it where you found it
Put it back, put it back, put it where you found it
Put it back, put it back, put it where you found it

Okay, so this is not the type of miracle that most of us would consider miraculous. This is the story of a man who cheats, hides it and somehow manages to not get caught. The unsaid ‘this time’ goes right along with it. I love the imagery of the black dog as his guilty conscience just nipping and yipping at him. And him, trying to push it away but you know that will never work.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

