Letters From The Sky – Civil Twilight

Listen here:

This band is really inspired and I have been listening to them for a couple of years or more. This trio from South Africa leaves the traditional beats behind for a more rock/indie inspiration but a lyrical depth we don’t see enough of these days. They’ve certainly had some exposure but haven’t hit the mainstream yet. Quiet In My Town and Human are their best known tracks beyond this one. There’s a haunting and heartfelt ache in the music.

Lyrics here, more below:
One of these days
The sky’s gonna break
And everything will escape
And I’ll know

One of these days
The mountains are gonna fall into the sea
And they’ll know

That you and I were made for this
I was made to taste your kiss
We were made to never fall away
Never fall away

One of these days
Letters are gonna fall from the sky
Telling us all to go free
But until that day
I’ll find a way to let everybody know
That you’re coming back
You’re coming back for me

‘Cause even though you left me here
I have nothing left to fear
These are only walls that hold me here
Hold me here
Hold me here
Hold me here
Only walls that hold me here

One day soon
I’ll hold you like the sun holds the moon
And we will hear those planes overhead
And we won’t have to be scared

We won’t have to be
Scared
We won’t have to be
Scared
You’re coming back for me (repeat many times)
You’re coming back to me (repeat several times)

Okay, if that doesn’t get to you, I don’t know what will. Deep, brilliant, hurting, hoping, believing! You could make a half-hearted plea that this is a love song but really it’s a God song. Waiting for Jesus, God or whoever. Taking the pain away. No need to be scared any more. For me, this just drills into my heart, scars me with the flip between quiet prayer and raging soul.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letters From The Sky – Civil Twilight

  1. Frank says:

    “…scars me with the flip between quiet prayer and raging soul.” Perfectly describes me too. Thanks for putting words to the ache and longing.

  2. Sydney says:

    I love this song ever. I’m actually putting their lyrics on my blog and all their sudden meanings. Their song is truly inspirational, I’m listening this every single day. I found this song from the soundtrack of I AM NUMBER FOUR. It’s totally cool.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      I didn’t realize it was on that soundtrack! It is an amazing song! Glad it inspired you!

      Thanks for writing and letting me know that!

  3. peteolsen says:

    Very cool Larry.
    I really like the sound of this band and unlike Deborah, I really think that their lyrics are bang on and allow the listener to dream into the deeper meanings and become part of the songstory. Thanks for this. I will pursue this group and their work.
    Pete

  4. larrylootsteen says:

    Thanks for the thoughts. Definitely agree on the U2. This is a band that is on the rise and I think the potential for long-term growth is there. Can’t argue with where they are so far!

  5. Deborah says:

    Thanks for posting this. I didn’t know about this band. Funny the comments debating whether coldplay, radiohead or U2! As an older listener i want to say–no radiohead, coldplay or any of this sound without U2 kids! I also like this solitary version of “human” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lU0ZCFIB8U&feature=related
    that i found when listening to the one you posted. while i like the ideas in their lyrics, I hope they grow more in that area. There are good ideas here and they could take it so much further. Go boys!

Leave a Reply

