U2: Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me

Obviously as a U2 fan, the boys being back on stage is a big deal to me. It doesn’t much matter whether setlists change a lot from show to show, though we always love to see surprises.

Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me Kill Me was always a favourite track. Amazing guitar work, amazing lyrics. The animated video for the song was cool. I’ll put the show video, original song video and lyrics below.

It isn’t without irony that in the original video, the animated Bono takes his halo, removes it and holds it in front of his face, much like the lighted mic he used in Turin.

Favourite line? Turning tricks with your crucifix. Televangelists can suck on that!

Here’s the show version:

And the original video:

Lyrics here:
You don’t know how you took it
You just know what you got
Oh Lordy you’ve been stealing
From the thieves and you got caught
In the headlights
Of a stretch car
You’re a star

Dressing like your sister
Living like a tart
They don’t know what you’re doing
Babe, it must be art
You’re a headache
In a suitcase
You’re a star

Oh no, don’t be shy
You don’t have to go blind
Hold me, thrill me, kiss me, kill me

You don’t know how you got here
You just know you want out
Believing in yourself
Almost as much as you doubt
You’re a big smash
You wear it like a rash
Star

Oh no, don’t be shy
There’s a crowd to cry
Hold me, thrill me, kiss me, kill me

They want you to be Jesus
They’ll go down on one knee
But they’ll want their money back
If you’re alive at thirty-three
And you’re turning tricks
With your crucifix
You’re a star

(Oh child)

Of course you’re not shy
You don’t have to deny love
Hold me, thrill me, kiss me, kill me

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to U2: Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me

  1. jean lannen says:

    Larry, thanks! Way cool you got both videos up there!

Leave a Reply

