Lights – Interpol

Watch/Listen here:

Interpol is one of those bands that I feel like I have always listened to. Their music has always been so interesting to me. There is that constant edge of darkness in the music. And the lyrics are always convoluted but still conveys the message.

Lyrics here, more below:
All that I see
Show me your ways
Teach me to meet my desires
With some grace

All that I fear
Don’t turn away
And leave me to plead in this hole of a place
‘Cause what if I never break
Estuary won’t you take me
Far away
Far away

All that I seek
Please police me
I won’t you to police me
But keep it clean

Now that you mean my day
Now let’s take them away
(that’s why I hold you)
Strong as you’ve seen
Bold as you behave
(that’s why I hold you)
You will always obey
(that’s why I hold you)

All that I feel
Capital ways
Teach me to grieve and conspire
With my age

No hide and seen
We left so clean
Not today
It’s like you want it that way

All that I see
Is peaceful eyes drawn away from me
Drawn away from me (drawn away from me)

We’d like to take the sights
(that’s why I hold you)
And bring silence in disguise
(that’s why I hold you dear)
We would like to meet the buyer
(that’s why I hold you)
That is on your life
That’s why I hold you
That’s why I hold you
That is why I hold you
That is why I hold you dear

So the first few times I heard this song I kept thinking, hmmm, is this a spiritual song in some way. Show me your ways, grace, don’t turn away. Easy, right? Ahhh, but not so fast. I see something that is far less loving and spiritual behind this.

‘Teach me to meet my desires with some grace’. Sounds like a prayer doesn’t it? Since when do we pray to meet OUR desires??? And then you have the ‘Capital ways’ and ‘teach me to grieve and conspire with my age’. Obviously talking about get into the money grubbing and self-serving world we live in.

So I think this is actually a prayer. But not to God but actually the Devil. When ‘All that I see is peaceful eyes drawn away from me’, you know that he’s gone over to the dark side. I think this is an absolutely brilliant twist on a love song to God. Done as only Interpol can do…so, so well.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lights – Interpol

  1. Pingback: U2: Brussels Belgium I Setlist | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

Leave a Reply

