U2: Performs Boy Falls From The Sky live

This song is from the Broadway production of Spiderman Turn Off The Dark but this is the first time U2 has performed it live! Lyrics below – somewhat longer and different than Carney’s performance from a few weeks back.

Lyrics and more below…

Lyrics:

You can change your mind
But you cannot change your heart
It’s a compass and a map
The key to the chart

I’d be myself
If I knew who I’d become
You fly too high
And get too close to the sun

See how the boy falls from the sky

Not every wanderer
Is lost or far from home
I didn’t have to move so far
To find myself alone

Save, you save yourself
Can’t even get that right
I used to use a single thread to cross the sky
And now the eye of the needle is a heart denied

See how the boy falls from the sky

The city conducts a symphony
The search through shit for melody
A single scrap of dignity
In the junkyard of humanity

On the burning rubble and the sulphur sky
We look for clues yeah, you and I
Although the screams and the sirens wail
The Catholic light is up for sale

The subway screech soars down the drain
The thunder when there is no rain
So listen hard, listen again
To your own voice and the rain comes back

You know exactly what to do
The you and me, the we and you
Together you start the self esteem
And when you do
And when you do
And you believe

Observations:
This song has so much passion and really takes me back to old U2. This is really a song that builds and soars and grabs at yor heart. It is pumping, hurt, angry and uplifting anthem. I miss this side of U2!!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to U2: Performs Boy Falls From The Sky live

  1. stargift says:

    In keeping in line with my shaky alter ego theory a couple of adjustments would be in order.

    “The you in me, the we in you
    Together lift up your self esteem”

  2. Smirk says:

    I like this song – and although I was skeptical at first, think this Broadway show is going to way kick ass. The Cirque Du Soleil involvement is what pushed me back from the dark side.

  3. stargift says:

    If he as Peter Parker is talking to his alter ego Spiderman he could be saying toward the end of the song—“the you in me, the me in you”

  4. larrylootsteen says:

    I like your ideas. Just so hard to tell what’s right. I’m getting sick of waiting!! Where’s our new cd? Curious if we’ll get a radio drop Monday after the boys get home. Curiouser still if this will be on the cd!!

  5. stargift says:

    Here is my guess on the lyrics

    You can change your mind
    But you cannot change your heart
    It’s a compass and a map
    The key to the chart
    I’d be myself
    If I knew who I’d become
    You fly too high
    And get too close to the sun See how the boy falls from the sky
    Not every wanderer
    Is lost or far from home
    I didn’t have to move so far
    To find myself alone Save, you save yourself
    Can’t even get that right
    I used to use a single thread to cross the sky
    And now the eye of the needle is your heart tonight
    See how the boy falls from the sky
    The city conducts a symphony
    The search through shit for a melody
    A single scrap of dignity
    In the junkyard of humanity On the burning rubble and sulphur sky
    We look for clues yeah, you and I
    Although the screams and the sirens wail
    The Cathode light is up for sale ???
    The subway screech slows down the train
    The thunder when there is no rain
    So listen hard, listen again
    To your own voice as the rain comes in You know exactly what to do
    The you with me, the we with you
    Together you start the self esteem
    And when you do
    And when you do
    And you believe

  6. crush-monkey says:

    I love it ! (of course!)

Leave a Reply

