I Believe In You – Black Dub

Watch/Listen:

This is the first single from the just released self-titled album. Just a stunning collection of musical talent and vocalist whose voice literally drips with emotion.

Lyrics here, more below:
From where I was standing
It was hard to see
Hard to see
What has always been
Will forever be
Forever be

Now you’re running down my spine
Like a waterfall
Like a waterfall
Want to write your name
On every wall
On every wall

I believe in you
I believe in you
I believe in you
Yes I do, yeah
I believe in you

Up and down the river
In a little boat
A little boat
All I need is you and a castle
All made of hope
Made of hope

I can walk through the doors of time
Scale any wall and cross any line
I can send any thought to the end of the finger
Burn any knot with a kiss

I believe in you
I believe in you
I believe in you
Yes I do, ay, ay
I believe in you

From the bottom of the room, yeah
To the top of the leaf
To the top of the leaf
I can drink the maple water
Any time I believe
Any time I believe

I was frozen
I was going
In a blade of grass
I’m running out of honey
Living in the past

I believe in you
I believe in you, yeah
I believe in you
Yes I do, yeah
I believe in you
I believe in you
I believe in you
I believe in, I believe in, I believe in you, yeah
I believe in you
I believe in you, yayeah
I believe in you

I could sit here and take apart all of the imagery presented. I could evaluate every single line and question its direction, meaning and cadence. But I won’t. Because this song needs to be taken in its entirety. It’s just a beautiful poem written by someone who’s in love and can’t believe how great it is and can be. She can’t understand why but she totally wants it. She fought it and now she gets it. And the only question to ask is ‘do you’?

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Believe In You – Black Dub

  1. David says:

    This is brilliant.

  2. deborah orandon says:

    i am bowing down to black dub–the whole record rocks rolls and floats my boat!

Leave a Reply

