Sick of You – Cake

Listen/Watch here:

Okay, so this is a band you may or may not know. They are different. A bit quirky. Funny. Strange. Brilliant. Feel free to compare me!! 😉 I remember hearing these guys so long ago and they have had some significant success. Songs like The Distance, Short Skirt/Long Jacket, No Phone, Never There and the brilliant cover of I Will Survive all carry their unique charm. Check out these songs if you are bored!

Lyrics here, more below:
I’m so sick of you
So sick of me
I don’t want to be with you

I’m so sick of you
So sick of me
I don’t want to be with you

I want to fly away
I want to fly away

I’m so sick of work
So sick of play
I don’t need another day

I’m so sick of work
So sick of play
I don’t need another day

I need to fly away
I need to fly away

Every shiny toy
That at first brings you joy
Will always start to cloy
And annoy

Every camera, every phone
All the music that you own
Won’t change the fact you’re all alone (All alone)

Every piece of land
Every city that you plan
Will crumble into tiny grains of sand

Every thing you find
That at first gives you shine
Always turns into the same old crime (Same old crime)

I want to fly away
I want to fly away
I need to fly away
I need to fly away

I’m so sick of you
So sick of me
I don’t want to be with you

I’m so sick of you
So sick of me
I don’t want to be with you

Every little dance
Every internet romance
All alone (All alone)
All alone

Every thing you find
That at first gives you shine
Always turns into the same old crime

This song is as simple as a rant of frustration and as complex as trying to decipher why nothing seems to last. Nothing including the things we own, the places we live and the relationships we get into. Really I think it is song about the shallowness of this time. A time where ownership trumps emotion. I love that this isn’t focused solely outward but he includes himself in the dance of shame at this money-driven society. Such a great song on so many levels. Put this on in th car REALLY loud and try not to sing along with a vengeance!!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick of You – Cake

  1. larrylootsteen says:

    ahahahhaa All I know is excess ain’t rebellion! And you know you’re drinking what they’re selling…

  2. Cliff Bechard says:

    I had all but forgotten about this band, which emergerd in the mid-90’s! GREAT SONG!! But, I wonder, how DO they afford thier rock & roll lifestyle??

Leave a Reply

