Little Pieces – Gomez

Listen/Watch here:

I wrote about this group before, discussing the track Airstream Driver. I can’t help but love this guy’s voice. As much exposure as they’ve had in North America (Grey’s Anatomy, House), they really haven’t hit the mainstream here as much as I would have expected. Given their history, I could well see a breakout over here soon.

Lyrics here, more below:
There’s a piece of me you can’t have
And I know that it’s driving you mad
There’s a part inside you can’t reach
I’m afraid that’s the way it’s gonna be

There’s a part of you that wants to fight
But I never really had the appetite
I fear my feelings won’t speak
Words already taken upon the breeze
Wind is always blowing

Pieces falling from me
You can have them for free
Never felt so complete
Pieces falling from me

Though you try your best you never find
There are pieces that have been left behind
Lost last piece of the jigsaw
While the others scattered upon the floor
So you try to pick them all up
There are pieces falling in the dust

There’s a pile of ash we don’t need
Just leave it to be
Taken upon the breeze
Wind is always blowing

Pieces falling from me
You can have them for free
Never felt so complete
Pieces falling from me

All this background noise
Its crowded, never tell
It’s half the reason why I lie
Time to make another path
I never laugh

Theres a fine line
What you want and what you need
Standing right there in between
Never been there, can’t be
Never laugh

Pieces falling from me
You can have them for free
Never felt so complete
Never be what you need

Something missing from me
That’ll never compete
There the last one’s complete
Pieces falling from me

Feel free to correct anything here. I had a hard time with a few spots. What I love about these lyrics is the constant confusion, conundrum, about him and how he feels. Take what you can from me but you’ll never get past this last wall. You’ll never find those last few puzzle pieces. At the same time, it almost sounds like he wants that but doesn’t know how or is afraid. Gotta love the reality of that.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

