Bambi – Tokyo Police Club

Listen here:

I have been following these guys for awhile. They came out of the Toronto area a few years ago and have done very well. Check out songs like Nature of the Experiment, Your English is Good, Tessellate and Wait Up. Bambi is from their latest album Champ. This song is a complete departure and i love it for that. They mix it up on all their tracks but this one is a real mark. To me this is almost a 50’s song brought into the new century. The crazy keyboard sound is brilliant!

Lyrics here, more below:
I wanna tell you there’s a really good reason
Why I came home wasted in the middle of the night
A tiny kingdom at the bottom of the trees
Where I was always a winner and I was usually right

Oh, you can watch it when you get a bit older
But for now in the bad bits, I should cover your eyes
She painted pictures with the tips of her fingers
Sewing buttons to Bambi, tying strings to a kite

Turning into black and white
Underneath the swinging lights
Barely awake
But I still got my stripes
’cause you’re the killer with the colored kite

I wanna tell you there’s a really good reason
Why I came down easy, spinning threads to a throne
A tiny kingdom at the bottom of the trees
Where I was always a winner and I was barely alone

Turning into black and white
Underneath the swinging lights
Barely awake
But I still got my stripes
’cause you’re the killer with the colored kite

Tangled up, tongue tied
Tell me what to do
Tangled up, tongue tied
Tell me what to do

Turning into black and white
Underneath the swinging lights
Barely awake
But I still got my stripes
’cause you’re the killer with the colored kite

Turning into black and white

So it’s an interesting lyric isn’t it? I could focus on the child who can’t figure it all out yet but will one day. I could go existential and define the kingdom as his ability to make things work in a relationship. Ultimately I see a man who is in a really good place and knows it can’t last. But he is damned if he isn’t going to hold on until it gets ripped from him with force. And he hopes someone can explain how to hold on. Or not! That’s why I love strange lyrics!!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bambi – Tokyo Police Club

  1. Wind says:

    “…in a really good place and knows it can’t last.”

    Why can’t it last, other than if that’s your attitude of course it can’t?

Leave a Reply

