U2: Rise Above – Spiderman, Turn Off The Dark

Video from Letterman:

You can watch the video on the Letterman site here.

Lyrics here, more below:
When the ones who run the fire house
Are the ones who start the fire
When the lawless make the laws
And every preacher is a liar

When the ones that damn the innocent
Well they own the nightly news
And front page

Old man said to me
It’s not who but what you know
And knowledge isn’t wisdom
Without control

Better still to be the changes
That you want to see
But they come slow
I know

And you said rise above
Open your eyes up
And you said rise above
I can’t
I can’t

And every heart that bleeds
Will colour your world red
And the sorrow in the night
Will be the gloom you cannot shed

But your strength will be your vision
Be your visibility
And the gift of woe before you
Will give you new eyes to see

That you can rise above
Swing through the skies above
And you shall rise above
Yourself

Know that I’ll be watching
Know that I’ll be waiting

You stand here on the precipice
I can’t soar away from you

And you can rise above
Feel your soul
Open your eyes up
Rise above yourself and take control
And you can rise above
Feel the love
Yourself
Release yourself and rise above it all
And you can rise above
I have been
Open your eyes up
And you are never alone
And you can rise above
Outside your dreams
Yourself
I’ll be watching and waiting for you

And every heart that bleeds
Will colour your world red
And the sorrow in the night
Will be the blue you cannot shed

And your strength will be a vision
Be your visibility
And the gift you have before you
Will give you new eyes to see

I love these lyrics! They speak to me on a level about the darkness that I feel everywhere in the world these days. We have lost control of our lives. And the words ring in my ears, telling me to push back and get above the mire. Live the truth. Be the truth.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to U2: Rise Above – Spiderman, Turn Off The Dark

  1. The Spidy Father says:

    really cool song

  2. Michelle groves says:

    I love these lyrics!!!!! When I saw the broadway show I started crying! After the show, I kept singing it in the shower for a whole month. The song touches my heart. I love it sooo much

    • larrylootsteen says:

      It really is a fantastic song. I really loved the lyrics changes in the version they did on Idol last night as well…

  3. patoalez says:

    Gracias por poner la letra!!!!!

  4. JJ says:

    I saw the musical a few weeks back. Loved it. The whole theater was in unison with their applause for the entire cast. I’ll come back to check the rest of your lyrics when I have time later this week.
    And yes, Reeve repeats what Arachne says about the color of the costume. Sounds like gloom, but she does say Blue because she is explaining to Peter, and the audience, why his costume has those colors.

  5. JJ says:

    Nice job with the lyrics. Some of them are a little off though. Rise Above is sung during the point in the musical right after Uncle Ben is murdered. The first set of lyrics sung by T.V Carpio, who plays the Greek myth of Arachne, sings them as she descends from the theater ceiling; giving Peter his new costume. She explains the symbolism of the red and blue colors of his uniform as well.

    And every heart that bleeds
    Will color your world red
    And the sorrow in the night
    Will be the blue you cannot shed

    But your strength will be your vision
    Be your visibility
    And the gift I’ve woven for you
    Will give you new eyes to see…

    • larrylootsteen says:

      That’s cool! Thanks for the explanation. It`s always hard to tell when getting lyrics by ear but I try! Are your lyrics based on the Letterman performance or the show itself.

      The reason I ask is the first verse you have there I have the same in the latter part of the song. I still hear gloom in the first pass in the Letterman performance. But i`ve been wrong a time or two before!

      The woven part I can totally see. I had trouble there.

      Thanks for writing! Much appreciated!

  6. Wind says:

    I’m guessing that the italics are your addition. Or perhaps some non-physical entity that is speaking, or rather, typing through you. They do that.

    You are a good man.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Actually if you watch the video carefully, there are multiple singers who sing at the same time. The italics was the differentiation between two singers. You can actually read the italics only as one stream of singing while the other is more the background singing.

      I have been called many things. Possessed is certainly one! Mad, another!

      Thanks for writing!

  7. Do you know where to get lyrics to the other songs? We are going next week and my husband has trouble w/lyrics. I wanted to get them in advance. Did that years ago for my dad at Les Mis and it made a huge difference. If you do, could you write to me at cindys@care2team.com?

Leave a Reply

