Changing – Airborne Toxic Event

Listen/Watch:

Definitely one of my favourite bands of recent years. Of course you may have recognized the strains of their biggest hit Sometime Around Midnight at the beginning of the video. Their new album All At Once will hit stores in April.

Lyrics here, more below:
All these buckets of rain
I’ve heard enough about
You say that I lied

I am a gentleman
Didn’t I ask for a place I could stay?
What were we both thinking?
The next part just got in the way

You were just always talking about
Changing, changing
What if I was the same then
The same I always was?

All these things that you say
Like I’ll forget about the mind-numbing games
That you play

I am a gentleman
Didn’t I pay for every laugh, every dime
Every bit, every time
And then you feed me some line

I won’t hear
One more word about
Changing, changing
Guess what?
I am the same man, same man
Same that I’ve always been

Days pass and turn into weeks
When we don’t even speak
We just lay wide awake
And pretend we’re asleep

You go home alone
And you’re checking your phone
And you’re looking at me
Like I’m something you own

All these buckets of rain
You can’t forget about it
You say I never tried

I am a gentleman
Didn’t I answer every time that you call
Pick you up when you fall
But you never listen at all
You were just always talking about
Changing, changing
Guess what?
I am the same man, same man
Same that I’ve always been
Changing, changing
Guess what?
I am the same man, same man
Changing, changing
Guess what?
I am the same man, same man

I have to say I was a bit surprised at the pop sensibility of this song. Definitely looking forward to more from this album. Pretty obvious lyrics but still a great story. Why am I with this person. Screw it, I’ve had enough…

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changing – Airborne Toxic Event

  1. Natalia says:

    As you would love to see them live. It would be wonderful…To catch the chance:
    http://exclaim.ca/Contests/catch_airborne_toxic_event_when_they_come_to_canada
    Before the whole album, some of the last video could be seen in their channel, it’s amazing too: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2fTAQ_bKuU
    Whish you like it! Sincerely.

  2. Nick says:

    No idea you liked them too! just seen them live 1 month ago and gonna see them again in 2 weeks:) best live band i know.

Leave a Reply

