Bombs Away

You told me to stop, I just didn’t know how
You asked me to quit but I couldn’t somehow
I said that I would and you said you did too
But the end of the day brought me down

I watched as you watched, me, you and the sun
I walked and I walked and around every turn
There you were asking ‘What did I do wrong?’
I just lit myself up and let you watch me burn

Smoking and ash
Remnants of a life
Pot and a drink
In a dwindling stash
When it sets the heat stays
My ember red brain
Wandering and wondering
On my knees and bombs away

The bomb on contact
What do you want?
The bomb left intact
When will it end?
The bomb’s still ticking
Is it gonna blow?
The bomb I’m kicking
Away my life goes

I sat in the chair at the end of the world
Cracked a cold one and just poured it on
A train wreck, a car and a plane crash too
And in my questioning head I still want

You were gone before you left and you’re still going
If you run much farther I’ll see you again
I know you won’t find me though, you won’t even look
Mind’s made up and for you there’s no bend

Stroking and cash
Remnants of strife
Potash and swill
In a dwindling mash
When it sets the cold stays
Still remember that day
Wondering and wandering
On my knees and bombs away

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bombs Away

  1. larrylootsteen says:

    Thanks to all of you for the very kind words…

  2. Olivia says:

    Intense imagery! Speaks of beaten emotions.. very well expressed!
    very powerful..

    Hugs xx

  3. superb imagery,

    you rock.

    cheers.

    check us out, join poets rally, have fun today.

  4. Shanna Dodd says:

    So personal. Love it.

  5. Well written..loved the way you have crafted your poem .Cheers!

  6. Jingle says:

    love this,

    reading your work is a bliss..beautifully conveyed sentiments.

    bless you.

  7. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 41(April 7-13, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

Leave a Reply

