Close Your Eyes

I close my eyes
And see the world in black and yellows and blues
I set my sights beyond the light
And explore the painful truths

I close my eyes
And try to find some kind of peace of mind
To deal with things I can’t control
To try to see while blind

I close my eyes
And pray to understand the meaning of this life
The reasons and the treasons
The struggles and the strife

What do you see
Behind the eyes?
Is your truth behind?
Are you living lies?
Look within
Pull back the veil
And figure out
Your holy grail

You close your eyes
And your journey sets out to find
What lies within and lies beyond
The tremblings of your mind

You close your eyes
And scream in pain at the injustices within
You pound away in vain
To remove those mortal sins

You close your eyes
One last time as peace can finally descend
A door finally opens and you can see
How the story will finally end

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

