Summer In Toronto

The lake is still
Diamond flash glint of sun
Blinding
Before the heat makes its play

Down by St Lawrence
And in Kensington
The bustle is already there
For the market vendors day

Every country on the planet
Is represented here
Majority and minority
All living in peace

Walking down Yonge Street
We all melt and we meld
One city, one vision
One heart to tell

Modern and majestic
Historic and sublime
It is the fire in the belly
For you and I
Summer in Toronto
From western mosaic to eastern shore
Each soul an individual
But the sum, something more

Woodbine Beach Toronto

This entry was posted in Music, Poems, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Summer In Toronto

  1. Jingle says:

    dreamy imagery, well done.

    Check out poets rally week 45 today…
    Have fun!
    That’s the perfect way to showcase your talent, make poetic friends, and receive poetry awards and more….hope to see you in, blessings.

    To submit, find Thursday Poets Rally on my sidebar or header page, , have fun!

  2. I would love to visit Toronto you make it sound so appealing

  3. Lisa Flynn says:

    Larry, you just made me want to move to Toronto. Wow! Well done! You truly deserve to get up on that stage and read this beautiful poem!
    Lisa

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Thanks for the kind words Lisa! I would be beyond amazed if he read it with anyone, let alone me. I will put this in the hopeful but won’t hold my breath category!

  4. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 45 (June 2-8, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  5. A.B. Thomas says:

    nice write on Toronto, it gives it an identity that I hadn’t seen it as before – but then again, each time I’ve been there, the folks, after finding out I’m Albertan, pat me down for a gun and moonshine!

    • larrylootsteen says:

      hahahaha that is SOOOOO me!! Really there are idiots everywhere. Toronto is not as rude and cold as some would think. I was born and raised there. Lived there for my first 37 years. And yes, it has changed. The heart is still there.

      So I moved about an hour away from Toronto. Farms, hunters, mennonites. Wondering why I never got the T.O. pat down!! 😉

      Thanks for writing!!

  6. Andy says:

    Love the poem Larry.
    My one criticism (since you asked) is the last line
    “And the values we teach” feels a touch preachy or holier-than-thou.

    One thought is to go for a Bono style rhyme and make us think you’re going to use one word but instead you use another. That way your last line ends up with a double meaning and becomes a memorable punch ending.
    It could still rhyme with teach…
    hmmm another simpler idea
    Reach
    maybe?
    Dreams we reach.
    although that might be too cheesy…

    anyway love it otherwise. good luck

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Hmmm, interesting thought Andy! Let me give that some thought. I had several alternate ideas for that line. I’ll see if anything works better!

  7. Wonderful poem..good flow and very well written.Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

