Long Time – Cake

Listen/Watch here:

Cake is one of those bands. I’ve listened to them for years. They’re big. They’re not. They are always entertaining. Often serious. Often funny. Quite often a little of both together.

Lyrics here, more below:
It’s been a long time
Since I’ve seen your smiling face
It’s been a long time
Since I’ve seen a sunny day

It’s been a long time
Since you wore your pillbox hat
It’s been a long time
Since we drove your Pontiac

It’s been a long time
Since you gave me butterflies
It’s been a long time
Since I’ve seen it burning in your eyes

But I don’t mind (I don’t mind)
No I don’t (I don’t mind)
No I don’t (I don’t mind)
When I’ve got you next to me

It’s been a long time
Since we tripped into this ditch
It’s been a long time
Since we drank the arsenic

It’s been a long time
Since we’ve been inside of this tomb
It’s been a long time
Since you wore your expensive French perfume

But I don’t mind (I don’t mind)
No I don’t (I don’t mind)
But I don’t (I don’t mind)
When I’ve got you next to me
Next to me

It’s been a long time
Since I’ve seen your smiling face
It’s been a long time
Since I’ve seen a sunny day

As much as I could go with the video interpretation, I have to go with the actual words. Not all that subtle to me. I feel like it’s a man who has run into an ex. And though much of the song gives that wistful feel, I also feel an edge of some negative memories wrapped up in it. A typical Cake song with the happy go lucky horns mixed in with a darker, not so obvious bent. By the by, I happened to hear this song on one of my favourite shiws which is Shameless. Brilliant song for a brilliant segment of the show…

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long Time – Cake

  1. Daureen says:

    to me it sounds like it is about a relationship that has gone stale and they’re stuck together, but all the magic and passion is gone and he pretends it’s okay.

  2. Andy says:

    Thanks for introducing me to this song Larry! I quite like it. The lyrics make me think of a husband and wife, passed away a long time ago, in graves next to each other. He is singing to her. Hasn’t seen her face or the sun in a long time, but they’re next to each other. My interpretation anyway…

Leave a Reply

