A Fond Farewell To U2 360

So. It’s over. At long last. I mean that. After documenting every show since 2009, I can say I’m glad it’s done. And yet? I will miss the day to day of it. I’m sure the band is happy it’s done. I’m sure they want a break, some time off and some new tunes to get out there.

How do you sum up 110 shows and 7 different legs? How can you describe the insanity and the history of 7.2 million tickets sold and a gross revenue of $736 million?

I thought it was unfortunate that the band chose to all but abandon all those tracks from No Line On The Horizon. I really found those to be stunning live and the album itself such an interesting and daring experiment. I still do. Maybe it didn’t capture the general populace. Their loss.

To get a sense of what I’m talking about, check out the setlist from show #1 at Camp Nou, Barcelona, Spain:
1. Breathe
2. No Line On The Horizon
3. Get On Your Boots
4. Magnificent
5. Beautiful Day
6. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
7. Angel Of Harlem / Man In The Mirror (snippet) / Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough (snippet)
8. In A Little While
9. Unknown Caller
10. The Unforgettable Fire
11. City Of Blinding Lights
12. Vertigo
13. Crazy Tonight
14. Sunday Bloody Sunday
15. Pride (In The Name Of Love)
16. MLK
17. Walk On / You’ll Never Walk Alone (snippet)
Encore(s):

18. Where The Streets Have No Name
19. One
20. Ultra Violet (Light My Way)
21. With Or Without You
22. Moment of Surrender

Do you see all the No Line tracks?

By the time Bono came back from his back injury, Breathe, No Line and Unknown Caller were gone. Turin setlist here. But the real excitement was some new music!!

Space Oddity
New opening (played live) – titled Stingray Guitar
Beautiful Day
Bono say ‘What time is it in the world’?
Magnificent
Get On Your Boots
Mysterious Ways (with My Sweet Lord snippet)
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
North Star (what we thought was I Can’t Wait Any Longer/For Your Love)
Glastonbury (what we called The Flowering Rose of Glastonbury)
Elevation
In a Little While
Miss Sarajevo (with some Italian lyrics)
Until The End of The World
The Unforgettable Fire (security comes to get a girl trying to climb the bridge)
City of Blinding Lights
Vertigo
I’ll Go Crazy (with Discoteque snippet)
Sunday Bloody Sunday
MLK
Walk On
Bishop Tutu video
One
Where The Streets Have No Name
Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me Kill Me (oh yes!)
With or Without You
Moment of Surrender

A quick, historic stop in Moscow brought a greatest hits show:

Space Oddity
The Return of The StingRay Guitar
Beautiful Day (Rain snippet)
New Year’s Day
Get On Your Boots
Magnificent
Mysterious Ways (My Sweet Lord snippet)
Elevation
Until The End of The World
I Still haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
Pride
In a Little While
Miss Sarajevo
City of Blinding Lights
Vertigo
I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight (remix)
Sunday Bloody Sunday (Get Up Stand Up snippet)
MLK
Walk On
One
Where The Streets Have No Name (Amazing Grace snippet)
Ultraviolet
With or Without You
Knockin On Heaven’s Door (with Yuri Shevchuk, singer of Russian band DDT )
Moment of Surrender

Of course a quick jaunt to New Zealand would not be complete without One Tree Hill. At least they actually played it elsewhere as well this tour! But this is the meaningful place for this, one of my all time favourites.

Return Of The Stingray Guitar
Beautiful Day
I Will Follow
Get On Your Boots
Magnificent
Mysterious Ways
Elevation
Until The End Of The World
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
One Tree Hill
Pride (In The Name Of Love)
In A Little While
Miss Sarajevo
City Of Blinding Lights
Vertigo
Crazy Tonight / Relax (snippet) / Two Tribes (snippet)
Sunday Bloody Sunday
Scarlet
Walk On / You’ll Never Walk Alone (snippet)
Encore(s):

One
Amazing Grace (snippet) / Where The Streets Have No Name
Ultra Violet (Light My Way)
With Or Without You / Shine Like Stars (snippet)
Moment of Surrender

After a quick stop in South Africa, the boys headed out to South America. Here’s the Santiago setlist:
1.Beautiful Day / Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (snippet)
2.I Will Follow
3.Get On Your Boots
4.Magnificent
5.Mysterious Ways
6.Elevation
7.Until The End Of The World / Anthem (snippet)
8.I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For / I Want To Know What Love Is (snippet)
9.One Tree Hill
10.Pride (In The Name Of Love)
11.In A Little While
12.Miss Sarajevo
13.City Of Blinding Lights
14.Vertigo
15.Crazy Tonight / Two Tribes (snippet)
16.Sunday Bloody Sunday
17.Scarlet
18.Walk On / You’ll Never Walk Alone (snippet)

Encore(s):

19.One
20.Mothers Of The Disappeared (snippet) / Where The Streets Have No Name / All You Need Is Love (snippet)
21.Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me
22.With Or Without You
23.Moment of Surrender

And then we were back to North America for the rescheduled and additional shows! Here’s the setlist from Mexico III:

Even Better Than The Real Thing
New Years Day
Get On Your Boots
Magnificent
Mysterious Ways
Elevation
Until The End Of The World
All I Want Is You!!!
Love Rescue Me!!!
Pride
Beautiful Day
Miss Sarajevo
Zooropa
City of Blinding Lights
Vertigo
I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight (Discoteque and Please snippets)
Sunday Bloody Sunday
Scarlet
Walk On (You’ll Never Walk Alone snippet)
One
Where The Streets Have No Name (Play Me and High And Dry snippets – NOT Amazing Grace)
Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me Kill Me
With Or Without You
Moment of Surrender


And, of course, a final night. The first show in Atlantic Canada. The first time U2 has ended a tour in Canada. The resurrection of a favourite from 1987 – The Ballad of Springhill (aka Springhill Mining Disaster – alas, snippet only).

1. Even Better Than The Real Thing
2. The Fly
3. Mysterious Ways
4. Until The End Of The World
5. I Will Follow
6. Get On Your Boots
7. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For / Springhill Mining Disaster (snippet)
8. Stay (Faraway, So Close!)
9. Beautiful Day / Space Oddity (snippet)
10. Elevation
11. Pride
12. Miss Sarajevo
13. Zooropa
14. City Of Blinding Lights
15. Vertigo
16. Crazy Tonight / Discothèque (snippet)
17. Sunday Bloody Sunday
18. Scarlet
19. Walk On

Encore:
20. One
21. Hallelujah (snippet) / Where The Streets Have No Name
22. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me
23. With Or Without You
24. Moment Of Surrender
25. Out Of Control
26. 40

7lmsv.jpg

It was nice they ended the tour with 40 and did it old school. Band walking off one by one. Ironically they had started the tour with them walking on in opposite order. A nice bookend to two years worth of work and play!!

It has been a wonderous, ponderous, thunderous ride. A thank you to a band I know will never hear it but knows it is there. The numbers alone tell the tale. Who else could sell 7 million tickets? Will there ever be another band this big? The real irony is, despite their longevity, fame and fortune, I really don’t think they are taken seriously on the greatest bands of all time list. Do you think that? I know they are in the Rock ‘n Roll Hall Of Fame. But I sometimes think they don’t get looked at in the same way as the Beatles and Stones. And yet they continue. They have an unbelievable musical history and a catalogue that continues to grow. A passion that continues to burn. And a dedication of live performance and spectacle that cannot be rivalled.

So I will now sit and hope that what comes next will be new, interesting and made with a love and creativity that will prove, once again, that U2 works outside the mainstream. Check that. I don’t need to hope. I already know.

A word of thanks to all who have followed along with me here. Ultimately you are the reason I stuck with this effort to the end.

Photo by Francesca

This entry was posted in General Commentary, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Fond Farewell To U2 360

  1. crush-monkey says:

    I am so happy I found your blog here on WordPress!

    Awesome tour summary!!!! : )

    (I miss Breathe too!)

  2. larrylootsteen says:

    Thanks Cath and Andy! I expect it will be another year or so before we get a release. I can see them wanting the time. And not wanting to head back on the road too quickly. We shall see. Curious if there will be another dvd from the tour as well. There will be lots of rereleases and such in between. I’ll be looking forward to some non-U2 blogging again!

  3. Cath says:

    I just wanted to say thank you for having given us the possibility to follow the show in such a direct way! Thank you for the videos, the incredible earpiece recording (particularly Glastonburry and North Star). Like you I’ll be waiting to see what is coming next but I’m sure I won’t be disappointed. I just hope it won’t last too long until they share some new songs with us!
    Thanks again and I hope you’ll be going on during the next U2 tour 😉
    Cath

  4. Andy says:

    Thanks Larry. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

