Holy Ghost – White Lies (and more)

Watch/Listen here:

I have been paying attention these guys for a couple of years. They just have this very interesting sound, including the vocals which seem to get right to me. I’m going to post a couple of videos below for my other two favourite White Lies songs. This is a great band.

Lyrics here, more below:
You were writhing on the floor
Like a moth in molasses
Whoever taught you to move your body like that?

Goose pimples just vanished
Like some out of date acid
Whoever taught you to scream like that?

Maybe someday I could move like you
Well I’m not looking for a holy ghost
Maybe someday I could scream like you
Well I’m not looking for a holy ghost

You were crying on the shoulders
Of the men in the shadows
Whoever taught you to sell your sex like that?

I’m thinking two halos
In a stained glass window
Jesus strangers are as strange as that

Maybe someday I could move like you
Well I’m not looking for a holy ghost
Maybe someday I could scream like you
Well I’m not looking for a holy ghost
(repeat)

I’ve got your lips

I’ve got your kisses

I’ve got your tongues

The lyrics here intrigue me. The story sounds like a man with a crazy prostitute. Asking himself how she does what she does. And He’s crying like he isn’t looking for something. But obviously he is. He is looking for love, not sex. Looking for meaning, not mindless. Looking for his soul. But he knows he’s looking in the wrong place. He wants her to be something more. But you know he’s just lost. Brilliant!

So here are two more favourite White Lies tracks:

To Lose My Life:

Bigger Than Us:

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

