Cough Syrup – Young The Giant

Watch/listen:

Young The Giant have been around awhile but they are only really hitting their stride now. The last two years have been exceptional for the band with songs being played in tv shows and now some smash hits heading their way. I’d be shocked if anyone hadn’t heard the song My Body at this point. Despite numerous lineup changes they have pulled it all together.

Lyrics here, more below:
Life’s too short to even care at all
I’m losing my mind, losing my mind
Losing control
The fishes in the sea they’re staring at me
A wet world aches for a beat of a drum

If I could find a way
To see this straight
I’d run away
To some fortune that I
Should have found by now
I’m waiting for this cough syrup to come down
Come down

Life’s too short to even care at all
I’m coming up now, coming up now
Out of the blue
These zombies in the park
They’re looking for my heart
A dark world aches for a splash of the sun

If I could find a way
To see this straight
I’d run away
To some fortune that I should have found by now

So I run to the things
They say could restore me
Restore life the way it should be
I’m waiting for this cough syrup to come down

Life’s too short to even care at all
I’m losing my mind, losing my mind
Losing control

If I could find a way
To see this straight
I’d run away
To some fortune that I should have found by now

And so I run now to the things
They say could restore me
Restore life
The way it should be
I’m waiting for this cough syrup to come down

One more spoon of cough syrup now

One more spoon of cough syrup now

I took a shine to this song immediately. His voice, the music, the lyrics all really mesh into a great sound. And what I love about the lyrics is they are so unspecific you could apply it to many life situations and have it work. For me the basic premise is that we all run to things that are supposed to make us feel better (like cough syrup!!) but in the end, they aren’t what we need. We live in a very dark world and I think the fortune he refers to is not financial but more spiritual. And he waits for the effects of whatever he uses to help to pass so he can really see and move to what he needs. I hope you get what you need from this one!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

