It’s All YOUR Fault American People!!

But really, this is a real problem that truly affects all of us.

I’ve had this bouncing around my skull in the last few years but it was an article I read by Jim Hightower that twigged it all together for me.

Have you noticed that politicians and financial experts all say the same thing? They say that until the people have a positive outlook, the economy won’t improve.

Really? So it’s our fault?

Of course!! If we don’t go out and spend money, the economy falters. And we don’t spend when we’re feeling negative. Ahaaaa!! Brilliant. So we are told we have to be fiscally responsible and yet we are told nothing will improve unless we spend more.

We sit and fight about government debt and responsibility but in order to save the day, we have to spend even more.

I’m curious how we are supposed to do that when 15% of the people in the US live below the poverty line (and yes, that will grow). I’m confused on how that will work when we appear to be sliding quickly towards another recession.

I’m flabbergasted how this is supposed to happen when wages are stagnant but costs continue to skyrocket. I’m flummoxed how that will work when the government continually allows corporations to ship their jobs elsewhere. And you can add in the very real unemployment rate of 16% (ignore the statistics you’ve seen).

How about you? How’s this all working for you?

I know financial pain. I ended up out of work for over a year. And we had spent and spent and spent much more despite my wages at the time being extremely high (by my standards anyway). I supported the economy like crazy. And we ended up declaring personal bankruptcy.

Trust me, it hurts to even write that publicly. I’m not proud. I feel like I let my family down. It still hurts. We still struggle. We have no credit cards. And believe me when I say we are far better off than so many. We continue to find our way back. Far more careful. Far more deliberate. And in some ways I’m proud that we’ve lived off our wages for the last six years.

I know I am not alone in this. I know there are those of you who still look for work. I know others have work but can’t make ends meet. I know people die every day for lack of resources in one of the richest regions on the planet.

And I sit and listen to people like Ben Bernanke and even President Obama, urging us to be positive and get out there and spend.

And I keep asking myself how this became our fault.

Here’s a thought. How about the corporations of North America got together and spent some of their billions in profits and invested in creating good paying jobs at home? How about the banks of the world decided that they don’t need to keep every penny of their billions and trillions and started giving back in far more significant ways to their communities. Start with eliminating fees for your customers since you already hold all the money and invest it anyway. I think you are doing okay there. And how investing in building services in every community?

How about the big polluters cut some profit and invest in making cleaner ways to do business? Invest even more to reverse the damage done?

How about all corporations stop pushing and investing millions to change and overturn regulations (yes, I’m talking to you Republicans and conservatives everywhere who say the words but know the practice is not real)? I think they’ve proven they cannot be trusted to self-regulate in a market economy. Maybe we could take all those bloody lobbyists and put them to work building affordable housing across the continent.

All those chemical and food conglomerates get regulated so that farmers can survive on their own. Invest in local growers and make affordable and fresh a standard in every city, town and suburb.

At the end of the day I’m just really tired of feeling like shit about the world. And I’m tired of officials acting like it’s up to us to fix the mess for them. Everywhere I look I keep seeing things that depress me. From the environment to the economy, education to government I just keep wondering what kind of world my kids are going to have.

I know we can push back. The forces around us have done a grand job of distracting us, slowly lessening the education standards and driving to make us all couch potatoes who just can’t be bothered.

As the backlash continues from the all the bad, heartless and soulless decisions that have been made in our name and supposedly on our behalf, I think I’ll let Linkin Park have the final word…

I cannot take this anymore
I’m saying everything I’ve said before
All these words they make no sense
I find bliss in ignorance
Less I hear the less you’ll say
But you’ll find that out anyway
Just like before…

Everything you say to me
Takes me one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break
I need a little room to breathe
Cause I’m one step closer to the edge
And I’m about to break

This entry was posted in Politics/Religion/Whatever and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s All YOUR Fault American People!!

  1. Joann says:

    Wow, that pretty much sums it up ! I like your ideas. Our society has become so materialistic, yet we’re encouraged to be even more so, whle others in the world starve. It also amazes me that the religious right spends so much money on defeating same sex marriage and other “moral” issues, instead of using that money to really help the people who are hurting, starving, here and abroad. Question: what would Jesus really do ? Would he be more like Perry, Bachmann and Palin, or more like Bono? I myself like the simpler life. We don’t need so many toys.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Indeed. But it is very difficult when, from the time you are born, those images are thrown at you day after day. Turning this around is going to require another revolution…thanks for sharing your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

