Knowing

After all the time we spent together
Those days and nights and years
Hopes and pains
Drives and drains
It felt like a light came on

I thought I had it under control
You looked at me and I saw fear
A speck of real
What’s the deal?
And it suddenly had all gone wrong

She asked me if I knew
And I thought I did
But when I looked again
I could actually see
That everything I know
And everything I felt
And all that I was
Defined in pale shadows
Turned out to be the edge
And that love was so much more

You had asked me what it meant
And I just stared, startled
Undenied and underwhelmed
Became souls overwhelmed
Our fingers locked in a death grip

It was only then I saw it
You said that was when you knew
The fountain filled
More God then will
And we are left standing here, still

She asked me if I knew
And I thought I did
But when I looked again
I could actually see
That everything I know
And everything I felt
And all that I was
Defined in pale shadows
Turned out to be the edge
And that love was so much more

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

