Take The World – She Wants Revenge

Listen/Watch:

I’ve been watching this band for a while. This California outfit has a bit of a dark bent that I always like. The lead singer, Justin Warfield, has that brilliant, almost 80’s (think The Church, Killing Joke) sensibility with that same dripping blood vocal that really draws me in. You may well have heard their biggest hit Tear Me Apart.

Lyrics here, more below:
The words that no one speaks
About the night before
She stares off at the road
Her finger taps the door
I’d hate to judge
If roles reverse
You’d think so too

She’d seen the film before
But stayed until the end
She had him to herself
Perhaps as more than friends
Maybe I’d do
Things differently
If I were you

Your pulse it races with mine
And I swear that
There’s no other girl
Your body shakes
It’s like tonight
We can take the world
Your pulse it races
With mine and I swear
We can take the world

His hand against her cheek
Her tongue against his neck
She says you’re awfully sweet
I feel like we connect
Maybe it’s love
How would she know?
And did she tell?

The clothes they go on slow
She thinks of what to say
He whispers in her ear
She smiles and looks away
Her heart it screams
She grabs his hand
And says me too

Your pulse it races with mine
And I swear that there’s no other girl
Your body shakes, it’s like tonight
We can take the world
Your pulse it races with mine and I swear
We can take the world

Is this the life
The one you imagined
Is this the life
The one from your dreams
repeat 3x

Your pulse it races with mine
And I swear that there’s no other girl
Your body shakes, it’s like tonight
We can take the world
Your pulse it races with mine and I swear
We can take the world

Let’s have some fun with this one! So is it just boy meets girl, boy and girl fall in love? Or are we looking at the boy who says what she wants to hear? And is she asking if sex is love and just saying its love because he says it? Orrrrrr, what? Love it!! Just sufficiently questionable that you can take it how you feel today!! Go with the innocent, go with the jaded and ask if there’s a secret hiding in here somewhere as well! These guys deserve much more attention. This song is definitely on the road they should be on!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

