Trepanation Party – Voxtrot

Listen here:

For those of you who have been around awhile, you may recall this band. They had a fantastic song called Berlin, Without Return (see my write-up here). I found this song more recently and have been quite taken with it. They’ve been around since 2006 and hail from Austin Texas. Alas, apparently they are no more.

Lyrics here, more below:

Walk with me and say you love me
Do it for your sister, honey
Turn me off your leaves of plastic
Seven hours down

Every day I’m late for dinner
Monday night I’m ten pounds thinner
Rolling through the door with modern
Looking deadly

Girls who love me
Girls who hate me
Girls who never really rate me
Come on out and celebrate me

The great erotic garbage every woman feeds us
Starves to death
Staring through the kitchen window
Laughing at me

All of the time
All of the time
All of the time

Lucy says used to be like me
But now she’s doing fine
Mornings at the local bath
Sundays on the run
If you get sad and you get lonely
Call me up, I’ll always love you
I’ll be there to hold you
When you’re seeing double

‘Cause you’re my friend
‘Cause you’re my friend

Yeah everyone I know is losing their minds
Yeah but everyone I know has a really good time
Drilling holes in my head
You will never go blind
I will always be the outlaw for your love

One day you will come across
Who you were and what you lost
One day you will see with me simple truths about
Simple times and simple taste
Will drag you out and make you wait
For drums of life are calling anxious

Every beat of every drum
Is telling you, not everyone
As one described we are man’s son
You just can’t see it

Something in me
Something green
Something that you took from me
Dreams of love and growing young

But life in the future is blissfully kind
We’ve got so many questions
Left with so little time
Drilling holes in my head
You will never go blind
I will always be the outlaw for your love

Yeah everyone I know is losing their minds
Yeah but everyone I know has a good time
Drilling holes in my head
You will never go blind
I will always be the outlaw for your love

How does it feel to be?
(repeat 10 times)

One of the beautiful
One of the beautiful people

So first off the bizarre title. And yes, trepanation is a word. At first I thought it was made up of a combination of trepidation and nation but no. A few different takes on the word have to do with getting to the core but ultimately it is to drill a hole in the skull (and now if you look back at the lyrics you can see where they went with that).

As for the song itself I’d have to say it is a take on society. We are running like crazy people trying to make a buck to survive. We have an endless war to wage to keep our heads above water. We are constantly bombarded with bad news and a sense of hopelessness. So we do our best to go out and have fun and surround ourselves with people who feel the same way.

I think, too, it is asking what it is like to be above the treadmill. I think the song ends with the question we all ask. What it is like to not have to worry, to not have fight every day. To be one of the so-called beautiful people. A sad and honest statement on our lives.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

