The Return Of Humble And Fred – Update Show #1

Update:
You can download the first show here.

Okay, so you may be wondering what the hell I’m on about today. Read on and all will become clear!!

I first listened to Humble and Fred (the infamous Humble Howard Glassman and Fred (aka Freddie P) Patterson) back when they joined CFNY (a Toronto radio station now known as Edge 102) as the morning show team back in 1989. Yes, I am actually THAT old.

I started going down to the studio when they’d have open shows for fans. The first several had a handful of people. Me, my friends Ed and Eric and sometimes one or two others. We’d be the only ones there for most of the show at the start. We’d cheer and make a ton of noise so it would sound packed on the radio. Eventually a few people became a few dozen, eventually hundreds and one Christmas show, thousands!

In the beginning we got to spend a lot of time talking to them, getting to know them. I’ve kept in touch with Humble in particular over the years. Followed both of them as things changed and stations changed. They never failed to make me laugh but in a brilliantly stupid way. Not a constant stream of dick jokes like you see in so many shock-jock morning shows these days.

So here we are at a new beginning. Humble and Fred Radio. Their own online radio show and back together after several years apart. I can’t wait to see what they do as they undertake their stated goal. Wrecking the internet!! And only Humble and Fred would dare attempt such an insane and pathetic task!!

Do yourself a favour. No matter if you live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, the banks of the Ganges or on a planet near Polaris. Give these guys a listen. Not one show but several. I have no doubt you will come to love a couple of buffoons who filled so many mornings of my life with laughter. They won’t mind the pressure. They live to fail, dust themselves off and come back dumber than ever!! And truth be told, like the banks, they are too big to fail!!

You can visit their website here. Their first show will be posted October 15, 2011 and will go daily starting October 17, 2011 (shows posted around 1pmET each day).  Visit the blog and check out the colon cleanse giveaway! I will likely post again about them as their shows come to life and the insanity gets under way!

I wish them all the best!! I hope this becomes a worldwide phenomenon. I had the pleasure of watching these guys grow up. Join me as I watch them start their fiery march to bury the internet and their own futures!!

Here’s a picture of me with them – I’m a little younger, a little thinner and my beard is a lot darker – it has been THAT long.  That is me, Ed, Humble, Eric and Fred from 1997.

This entry was posted in General Commentary, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Return Of Humble And Fred – Update Show #1

  1. Aarti says:

    I was looking up stuff on Humble & Fred – to see where they are and I came up with this video that was on their website. I thought I would share it.

  2. Pingback: Humble and Fred – An Amazing Start | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  3. Martin says:

    Wow. I love these guys. Provided me the only sanity I could muster during my days working the night-crew shift at Food City (remember THAT chain of stores?). We would look forward to around 4:30am or so when Humble and Fred would hit the airways. We knew that it was quitting time soon, but not until we listened intensely to their anecdotes, the reviews of the latest track and of course…..Mr. Goohead, Welcome back boys. And now they are going to interview Hannah Chapplain: a recording artist that is blazin’ it in South Western Ontario. Awesome!!!

  4. Mark says:

    You bet! He looks a wee bit younger too! Note the Humble For Premier poster on the left side of the picture too!
    +1

  5. dani says:

    is that Dalton in the background?

    • larrylootsteen says:

      You bet! He looks a wee bit younger too! Note the Humble For Premier poster on the left side of the picture too!

Leave a Reply

