U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Zoo Station

As many of you are aware, the 20th anniversary box sets for Achtung Baby were released this week. There was a disc included in the Uber box called the Kindergarten Achtung Baby. This disc is track for track match to the original album but the tracks are preliminary versions that did not end up as the final product. This was the one piece of the most expensive box that caught my attention.

I have been lucky enough to listen to this disc several times. Over the next little while I will try to do a direct comparison of each track. The first track is, naturally, Zoo Station. Here is the audio for the ‘Baby’ version:

Here are the lyrics, as best I can make out:
I’m ready
I’m ready for the laughing gas
I’m ready
I’m ready for what’s next
I’m ready to slip
I’m ready to slide
I’m ready to accept
What I once denied
I’m ready
I’m ready to wake up

When I want to know
When I want to feel
When I want you, heyeeyayhey

I’m ready
I’m ready for the soundwave
I’m ready
To wait for the turn
I’m ready to jump
I’m ready for the lie
I’m ready to say
I’m glad to be alive
I’m ready
I’m ready for the push

The cool of the night
The warmth of the breeze
I’ve been crawling around
On my hands and my knees

I want you now
And I want you here
And I want you now
And I want you here
And nothing’s in here
The feeling is here
Tonight
And I want you love
I want to love
A woman and man
And I want you to love
Me here

Ready to take the fence?
Ready for the luxury?

I’m ready
Ready for the dancing girls
I’m ready
To take a fall
Cause I want you girl
And I’ll touch the wind
And I’ll kiss the sky
And I’ll keep you safe
And I’ll make the love
And I’ll make the song

And I want to hear
I want you here
I want to here
I want to let go of
I want your love
I want to run
You should sleep in

Okay, so sonically at least this is pretty close to the final run. Lyrically of course, this is miles away. You may notice that it is missing at least one critical element. Like ZOO STATION!!! I guess miles away is not quite true. Lots and lots of elements of what I keep wanting to call the original when this is even younger! Pretty cool to hear this song in its later stages of production but still needing a bit of work. As always, feel free to comment any corrections. There were a few spots I was hoping I got close. Share whatever thoughts you have!

And to keep things in perspective, here is the released version of the song and lyrics:

I’m ready
I’m ready for the laughing gas
I’m ready
I’m ready for what’s next
I’m ready to duck
I’m ready to dive
I’m ready to say
I’m glad to be alive
I’m ready
I’m ready for the push

In the cool of the night
In the warmth of the breeze
I’ll be crawling around
On my hands and knees

She’s Just down the line…Zoo Station
Got to make it on time…Zoo Station

I’m ready
I’m ready for the gridlock
I’m ready
To take it to the street
I’m ready for the shuffle
Ready for the deal
Ready to let go of the steering wheel
I’m ready
Ready for the crush

She’s just down the line… Zoo Station
Got to make it on time… Zoo Station

Alright, alright, alright, alright, alright
It’s alright… it’s alright… it’s alright… It’s alright

Hey baby… hey baby… hey baby… hey baby…
It’s alright, it’s alright

(Alright, you can turn it up)

Time is a train
Makes the future the past
Leaves you standing in the station
Your face pressed up against the glass

I’m just down the line from your love… Zoo Station
You know I’m under the sign… Zoo Station
I’ve got to make it on time
Make it on time… Zoo Station
I’m gonna be there… Zoo Station
Tracing the line… Zoo Station
That’s alright… Zoo Station
Just two stops down the line… Zoo Station
Just a stop down the line…

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Zoo Station

  1. I think the first versions are more in line with the band they were, where the first versions are different. Certainly ZooStation is (was) an unexpected song by U2, the lyrics need to be so as well. The album version achieves this. Yah!

    • larrylootsteen says:

      There’s no question the album was fantastic. I see some of what you say but many of the tracks had their own newness in my mind. Definitely beyond the outer edges of Joshua Tree…

  2. Pingback: U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Full Album Audio | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  3. Greg says:

    I appreciate this post. Kindergarten is all I have been listening to. It is amazing!

Leave a Reply

