U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Until The End Of The World

As many of you are aware, the 20th anniversary box sets for Achtung Baby were released recently. There was a disc included in the Uber box called the Kindergarten Achtung Baby. This disc is track for track match to the original album but the tracks are preliminary versions that did not end up as the final product. This was the one piece of the most expensive box that caught my attention.

I have been lucky enough to listen to this disc several times. Over the next little while I will try to do a direct comparison of each track. The fourth track is Until The End Of The World. Here is the audio for the ‘Baby’ version:

Haven’t seen you in quite a while
I was down the hold just killing time

Last time we met was a low-lit room
We were as close together as a bride and groom

We ate the food, we drank the wine
Everybody having a good time
Except you
You were talking like it was the end of the world

I took the money
I spiked your drink
You miss too much these days if you stop to think

And you led me on with those innocent eyes
You know I love the element of surprise
In the garden I was playing the tart

I kissed your lips and broke your heart
You…you were acting like it was
The end of the world
(whooshing sound)

Love, love, love…

In my dream I was drowning my sorrows
But my sorrows, they learned to swim

Surrounding me, going down on me
Spilling over the brim
Waves of regret and waves of joy
I reached out for the one I tried to destroy

You…you said you’d wait
’til the end of the world

Okay so you can hear lyrically we are very close to the end.  There were a couple of minor differences from what ended up as the final product.

This one is musically more interesting.  Sonically as well if you include the big whoosing noise heading into the first guitar solo.  I thought that sounded quite funny.  Had to play it twice to make sure I heard what I thought I heard.

Bono’s vocals in the latter half, especially when combined with the fuzzy distortion on what I assume is Edge when he comes in is quite jarring.  Obviously they are experimenting with the overall sound of the song as it seems the structure is pretty much set.

It’s funny hearing an almost pop guitar opening to this given what it ended up as.  As we go through each track now I am starting to feel there was a direction decided on towards the end to really harden the sound to fit the times.  I’m a little surprised that didn’t happen more during the writing process.  Given the tone and tenor of the sessions, through the struggles they went through, you would almost expect that tension to appear throughout as opposed to later addition.  But perhaps that also indicates how the band writes in its own way.

I’m finding this discovery all very interesting.  I hope you are too.  I can tell you there are some exciting and at times hysterical moments to come as we move through the remaining tracks!

Here’s the released video (Live From Sydney) and lyrics:

Haven’t seen you in quite a while
I was down the hold just passing time

Last time we met was a low-lit room
We were as close together as a bride and groom

We ate the food, we drank the wine
Everybody having a good time
Except you
You were talking about the end of the world

I took the money
I spiked your drink
You miss too much these days if you stop to think

You lead me on with those innocent eyes
You know I love the element of surprise
In the garden I was playing the tart

I kissed your lips and broke your heart
You…you were acting like it was
The end of the world

Love…love…love…

In my dream I was drowning my sorrows
But my sorrows, they learned to swim

Surrounding me, going down on me
Spilling over the brim
Waves of regret and waves of joy
I reached out for the one I tried to destroy

You…you said you’d wait
’til the end of the world

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Until The End Of The World

  1. Pingback: U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Full Album Audio | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  2. crush-monkey says:

    OMG!! LOVE LOVE the Baby versions of AB!!

    Shhhh don’t tell the band but I didn’t purchase any of the box sets!
    (but when AB was originally released I did buy the cd and TAPE! LOL)

Leave a Reply

