U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – So Cruel

As many of you are aware, the 20th anniversary box sets for Achtung Baby were released recently. There was a disc included in the Uber box called the Kindergarten Achtung Baby. This disc is track for track match to the original album but the tracks are preliminary versions that did not end up as the final product. This was the one piece of the most expensive box that caught my attention.

I have been lucky enough to listen to this disc several times. Over the next little while I will try to do a direct comparison of each track. The sixth track is So Cruel. Here is the audio for the ‘Baby’ version:

We crossed the line
Who pushed who over?
It doesn’t matter to you
I know it matters to me

We’re cut adrift
Still floating
I know the seven
Leaving signs on your boat
But I need support

I disappeared in you
You disappeared in me
What you can’t find in anyone else
You won’t find in me

Heard you made a breakthrough
With your best friend
Said he’d love you
Til the party’s end

I’m so happy
I could nearly attend
But I’m busy
Nothing’s changed

Ooooo love
To turn from you
I’d be a fool

Ooooooahhhhh
Sweetheart
You’re so cruel

Your heart is racing
And I can’t keep up
The night is bleeding
Like a cut
Between the horses of love and lust
We are trampled

Ride while there’s still ink
Left in the night
Ride ’til the morning
Bleeds brand new light
While there’s summer
Love in your hair
And a bramble nest (? brand fillness?)

Oooooohoooaahhh
Oh love and madness
Oooooohooaahhh
There’s no hope
You’re so cruel

This is a ripple in the sky
Where we find the sensitive thing
And the feeling disgrace (? this grace?)

Oh love, love, love, love, love, love

The ones who love you
You hate the most
Your spirit leaves
Behind the ghost
They can’t have ya
Cause you’re not there

Your heart is racing
And I can’t keep up
The night is bleeding
Like a cut
Between the horses of love and lust
We are trampled
Under foot

Ooooooooo love
You say in love
There are no rules

Ooooooooo love
Sweetheart
You’re so cruel

Oooooooo love
To stay with you
I’d be a fool

Ooooooahhhhaaahhh
Sweetheart
You’re so cruel

Wow, here’s another different example of a work in progress. The basic music structure is there and we have a prime example of what looks like Bono searching for a story to tell. The beauty of this particular cut is that we can actually see how far down the path he is. There are some written stanzas mixed in with bits I am confident he’s making up as he sings. Some work. Some don’t. And unless I am completely deaf, some are just strange. Bongolese? Stumbling? Who knows. But I do love the fact we have a view into the internals of his writing.

And I mean really, you can laugh at some of this. The ‘breakthrough’ line near the top was strange and yet I love the end of it where he says ‘he’d love you til the party’s end’. Pretty interesting. I really love the ‘ride while there’s still ink in the night’ line. I think that is brilliant.

So when I listen to this front to back, I don’t get the story that really shone through in the final product. But I do get a sense of it. There’s a certain lost feel that is both in the words and the spirit of the work in progress. The edge is missing in this version (yes, that is a small ‘e’). A little quieter. Slightly more contemplative. And overall, just a bloody interesting journey.

Feel free to chime in on any of the lyrics. I marked a couple of spots I was truly not sure what was going on. There’s a spot where the words don’t make sense. And there are spots where I’m confident I know what I heard but you really never know. Have a go!!

We crossed the line
Who pushed who over
It doesn’t matter to you
It matters to me
We’re cut adrift
We’re still floating
I’m only hanging on
To watch you go down
My love

I disappeared in you
You disappeared from me
I gave you everything you ever wanted
It wasn’t what you wanted

The men who love you, you hate the most
They pass through you like a ghost
They look for you but your spirit is in the air
Baby, you’re nowhere

Oh…love…you say in love there are no rules
Oh…love…sweetheart…
You’re so cruel

Desperation is a tender trap
It gets you every time
You put your lips to her lips
To stop the lie

Her skin is pale like God’s only dove
Screams like an angel for your love
Then she makes you watch her from above
And you need her like a drug

Oh…love…you say in love there are no rules
Oh…love…sweetheart…
You’re so cruel

She wears my love like a see-through dress
Her lips say one thing
Her movements something else
Oh love…like a screaming flower
Love…dying every hour…love

You don’t know if it’s fear or desire
Danger the drug that takes you higher
Head in heaven, fingers in the mire
Her heart is racing, you can’t keep up
The night is bleeding like a cut
Between the horses of love and lust
We are trampled underfoot
Oh…love…you say in love there are no rules
Oh…love…sweetheart…
You’re so cruel

Oh…love…to stay with you I’d be a fool
Sweetheart…you’re so cruel

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – So Cruel

  1. Pingback: U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Full Album Audio | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

Leave a Reply

