U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – The Fly

As many of you are aware, the 20th anniversary box sets for Achtung Baby were released recently. There was a disc included in the Uber box called the Kindergarten Achtung Baby. This disc is track for track match to the original album but the tracks are preliminary versions that did not end up as the final product. This was the one piece of the most expensive box that caught my attention.

I have been lucky enough to listen to this disc several times. Over the next little while I will try to do a direct comparison of each track. The seventh track is The Fly. Here is the audio for the ‘Baby’ version:

No baby no
It’s no secret

It’s no secret that the stars
Are falling from the sky
It’s no secret that I left you
And still I don’t know why

You say the sun is sometimes
Eclipsed by the moon
Baby I can’t remember
Too soon

It’s no secret that a friend
Is someone who lets you help
It’s no secret that a liar
Won’t believe anyone else

You say a secret is something
You tell another person
What do you think?
Child

You
Shine like a fading sky
She holds her love inside

A man will beg
A man will crawl
But it’s never too late
To take his call
It’s no secret at all

It’s no secret that a conscience
Will sometimes be a pest
Every secret made ambition
Bites the nails of success

Every artist is a cannibal
Every poet is a thief
Everyone’s in music
Cause everyone needs relief (?)

Move like a shiny star
She calls
But she’s behind (?)
She wants to have it all

A man will rise
A man will fall
From the sheer face of love
Like a fly from a wall
It’s no secret at all

Oh mmm hmmm

Love
You shine like a burning star
That’s falling from the sky
Tonight

Love
You shine like a burning star
Falling from the sky
Tonight

A man will rise
A man will fall
From the sheer face of love
Like a fly from a wall
It’s no secret

Here we go again!  So familiar and yet so strange.  Yes, the music structure is definitely there.  At the same time I found it missing the real drive and force of the final product.  There were elements I found in both the bass and drums that were interesting but just a little off.  The beauty of a work in progress!

Lyrically I found this intriguing.  Obviously there were some very solid spots that were either exactly like or near enough that you know they were happy with it.

I found the false start singing off the top to be good fun and nice to hear.  Some very strange lines where you can just feel Bono hasn’t figured out what to do with them yet.  And I was jarred by Bono asking ‘What do you think, child?’ near the opening.  I actually laughed because it not only sounded awful (or at least unfamiliar) but felt awful as well.  No surprise he changed that.

As always, between the distortion and the falsettos I had one hell of a time trying to figure some of this out.  So you know the drill.  If you come up with something, let me know!

It was kind of funny looking at the words and seeing the gaps, the missing pieces that must have been added.  I sat there waiting for the stanzas that would not come.  Like a painting with white spaces scattered across the canvas.  You know the painter is coming back to finish but what you are looking at still leaves you wanting.

(Oh, baby child)

It’s no secret that the stars are falling from the sky
It’s no secret that our world is in darkness tonight
They say the sun is sometimes eclipsed by a moon
You know I don’t see you when she walks in the room

It’s no secret that a friend is someone who lets you help
It’s no secret that a liar won’t believe anyone else
They say a secret is something you tell one other person
So I’m telling you…child

A man will beg Love…we shine like a
A man will crawl burning star
On the sheer face of love We’re falling from
Like a fly on a wall the sky…tonight
It’s no secret at all
It’s no secret that a conscience can sometimes be a pest
It’s no secret ambition bites the nails of success
Every artist is a cannibal, every poet is a thief
All kill their inspiration and sing about their grief
Oh love…

A man will rise Love…we shine like a
A man will fall burning star
From the sheer face of love We’re falling from
Like a fly from a wall the sky…tonight
It’s no secret at all
(Love…we shine like a burning star)
(We’re falling from the sky…tonight)

A man will rise Love…we shine like a
A man will fall burning star
From the sheer face of love We’re falling from
Like a fly from a wall the sky…tonight
It’s no secret at all

It’s no secret that the stars are falling from the sky
The universe exploded ’cause of one man’s lie
Look, I gotta go, yeah I’m running outta change
There’s a lot of things, if I could I’d rearrange

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – The Fly

  1. John says:

    Hi Larry,
    I haven’t listened to this (audio won’t come up on the computer I’m using, or have you removed it?), but looking at the lyrics, this is similar to the Lounge Fly Mix. I thought you would have noticed!

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Crap, looks like the source files were taken down. Sorry about that. I’ll see if there are replacements out there! Thx for pointing it out! I have lost track of the myriad of remixes over the years so my bad! I was taking a fresh look at these when I wrote it as well.

      • John says:

        Thanks Larry, I’d really love to hear it. I may have some more comments afterwards. Have heard Ultra Violet on You Tube and could probably write a fair bit about that… makes me think I should have got it when I had the chance. But, I’m still in two minds about it.

  2. Pingback: U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Full Album Audio | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

Leave a Reply

