U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Tryin To Throw Your Arms Around The World

As many of you are aware, the 20th anniversary box sets for Achtung Baby were released recently. There was a disc included in the Uber box called the Kindergarten Achtung Baby. This disc is track for track match to the original album but the tracks are preliminary versions that did not end up as the final product. This was the one piece of the most expensive box that caught my attention.

I have been lucky enough to listen to this disc several times. Over the next little while I will try to do a direct comparison of each track. The ninth track is Tryin To Throw Your Arms Around The World. Here is the audio for the ‘Baby’ version:

Let’s bring this up
Woo
Oh nay
C’mon

6 o’clock in the morning
You’re the last to hear the warning
You’ve been tryin to throw your arms around the world

You’ve been falling off the sidewalk
Your lips move but you can’t talk
You’ve been tryin to throw your arms around the world

I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman I will

Sunrise like a nosebleed
Your head hurts and you can’t breathe
You’ve been tryin to throw your arms around the world

You want eat and still be skinny
You want the prize without the winning
And you’re tryin to throw your arms around the world

I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still

Oh I dreamed that I saw Dali
With a supermarket trolley
He was tryin to throw his arms around the world

I took an open-topped Beetle
Through the eye of a needle
He was tryin to throw his arms around the world

I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still

Oh, ay, hahaha

Your head feels like a cabbage
And you know you’ve got a savage
You’ve been tryin to throw your arms around the world

And a woman needs a man
Like a fish needs a bicycle
You’ve been tryin to throw your arms around the world

I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
I’m going to run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
Woman be still
Woman be still
Woman I will

This one is very close to finished.  Even though the music is more acoustic and less like the more electronic sound it ended up at, the pieces are in place.  I kind of like the slow ballad, the almost Irish feel to the sound of this.  I found that very cool.

And I cannot escape this without mentioning cabbage!  That line and bono’s laugh made this whole take for me.  I howled the first time I heard it.  And until today, I swear I thought he said ‘Your head feels like a cabbage.  You know you have a samich’.  As in sandwich.  Which made it even funnier to me.  Unfortunately after listening more closely I’m pretty sure he says ‘savage’ but hey, I know what I prefer!!  The laugh really made it for me anyway.

Overall I found this one more interesting musically because of the different feel it gave the song.  In some ways I really like this a bit better than the final product.  That touch slower makes it more mellow, melodic and gives a kind of introspective feel.

Six o’clock in the morning
You’re the last to hear the warning
You’ve been trying to throw your arms
Around the world
You’ve been falling off the sidewalk
Your lips move but you can’t talk
Tryin’ to throw your arms around the world

I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Be still
I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman I will

Sunrise like a nosebleed
Your head hurts and you can’t breathe
You been tryin’ to throw you arms around the world
How far you gonna go
Before you lose your way back home
You’ve been trying to throw your arms
Around the world

I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman I will

Yeah, I dreamed that I saw Dali
With a supermarket trolley
He was trying to throw his arms around a girl
He took an open top beetle
Through the eye of a needle
He was tryin’ to throw his arms around the world

I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Oh, Woman I will

(And you just gotta, you just gotta make your faith…see…)

Nothin’ much to say I guess
Just the same as all the rest
Been trying to throw your arms around the world
And a woman needs a man
Like a fish needs a bicycle
When you’re tryin’ to throw your arms around the world

I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
I’m gonna run to you, run to you, run to you
Woman be still
Woman be still
Be still
Woman be still
Woman I will

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Tryin To Throw Your Arms Around The World

  1. S Williams says:

    You’re the first Google search result for “Kindergarten Achtung Baby,” so here I am. Thanks so much for posting the audio tracks! I first heard “Tryin’ To Throw…” on XM radio yesterday and stopped what I was doing to hear it all. I too laughed at loud at the mention of cabbage. I think this version sounds Cajun-y, and I enjoy it a lot.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      That’s great that you enjoyed it! I found it all very interesting! I appreciate you taking the time to share this!

  2. Pingback: U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Full Album Audio | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  3. Chris B says:

    Could it be that the vocal track on this is new? This sounds like 2010 Bono, not 1991 Bono.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Hey Chris! These are supposed to be from back then, not rerecorded for today to the best of my knowledge. I could be wrong. It would take something away from what this is if they had updated these in any way. I believe they just edited from the original recording. My two cents anyway.

      Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

