U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Love Is Blindness

As many of you are aware, the 20th anniversary box sets for Achtung Baby were released recently. There was a disc included in the Uber box called the Kindergarten Achtung Baby. This disc is track for track match to the original album but the tracks are preliminary versions that did not end up as the final product. This was the one piece of the most expensive box that caught my attention.

I have been lucky enough to listen to this disc several times. Over the next little while I will try to do a direct comparison of each track. The twelfth (and final) track is Love Is Blindness. Here is the audio for the ‘Baby’ version:

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night
Around me
mmmmmmhmmmmm
Love is blindness

And the ships we sail
On stormy seas
It’s the waves that crash
That sever me
All my life
Love is blindness

In a parked car
On a crowded street
Little moment lying
De compli
Squeeze the handle
Love is blindness

Love is clockworks
And cold steel
Fingers too numb to feel
All my heart
Love is blindness

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night
Around me
Ooooo mmmmmm
Love is blindness

Love is drowning
In a deep well
All the secrets
And no one to tell
Neverending
Pretending
Love is blindness

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night
Around me
Mmmmmmmm
Love is blindness

Love is clockworks
And a telephone line
Her whispering sigh
And she don’t mind
Oh my heart
Love is blindness

Ooooohooohooo
Hoooooohooo

So where do I begin? With the fact that I LOVE this version. And that perhaps it is my favourite of all the Kindergarten tracks?

Or do I simply call this Blues and Asian meets Jimi Hendrix?

Whatever way you care to look at this, I think it is fantastic. And Bono’s slightly drunken vocals really adds to the atmosphere of this mix. As much as the final product was a great song, this for me was more raw, more real and has a less processed feel. And perhaps that is something the band needs to embrace more. Allow a bit of the raw emotion to remain. Let the imperfections that really let you feel what is happening in the room come through.

Am I wrong? I think that fear of failure that has invaded so much of the band’s work over the more recent decades has really limited the emotion in the recordings. And even though live, that feeling comes through better, the shows are so processed that some of the spontaneity gets lost. Think about young Bono, running everywhere, singing and likely improvising both staging and song. These days we get the corporate-wrapped band. Still great. But imagine the possibilities. When was the last time you saw Edge do a spontaneous extended solo? Or he took off singing, leaving Bono wondering what the hell? A crazed drum solo from Larry? Or Adam playing past the end of a song and taking some wild road no one saw coming?

Maybe U2 v3.0 should be the band at its start. Raw, experimental and open to anarchy.

We saw bits of this with them trying out new music during 360 and willing to flub it. If they can make that work in the studio and build on it live, the U2 of the new millenium will be a confident, open band who know who they are, know their fans and are willing to finally bring it all home. Letting us fully into the experience. And allowing themselves to just be.

A guy can dream, can’t he?

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night
Around me
Oh my heart
Love is blindness

In a parked car
In a crowded street
You see your love
Made complete
Thread is ripping
The knot is slipping
Love is blindness

Love is clockworks
And cold steel
Fingers too numb to feel
Squeeze the handle
Blow out the candle
Love is blindness

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night
Around me
Oh my love
Blindness

A little death
Without mourning
No call
And no warning
Baby…a dangerous idea
That almost makes sense

Love is drowning
In a deep well
All the secrets
And no one to tell
Take the money
Honey
Blindness

Love is blindness
I don’t want to see
Won’t you wrap the night
Around me
Oh my love
Blindness

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Love Is Blindness

  1. Giaffra says:

    Great work, Larry! I’d say that this version makes clear the atmosphere, as well as the “topic” of the song, more than what came later as final version. Arabish mood is substituted by a funeral procession mood. It sounds like in this version it would be clear to everyone it is a war-mourn song even if you don’t understand a word of english. Thanks for sharing, (PS: agree with you about Horses comments, too).

  2. Pingback: U2: Kindergarten Achtung Baby – Full Album Audio | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

Leave a Reply

