Heavyweight – Our Lady Peace

Listen/Watch here:

Definitely a favourite in the Canadian rock band category. They’ve always been a bit of a mix between rock and alternative. I feel like I’ve listened to them forever. This track is from their yet to be released album – I believe it is due in the spring.

Lyrics here, more below:
I’m looking for a sign that I can’t see
The good, the bad is somewhere in between
These warning signs
And the servant grinds, me down

The kids are building fires by their homes
The smoke is sending signals out in code
These safety suits
These parachutes
I don’t know

Gotta stop, drop, roll

When all these walls come down
They’ll shake us
We fight not to be
Not to be weightless

Oh when all these stars hit ground
They’ll wake us
We fight not to be
Not to be weightless

I’m choking on the words that I can’t say
My lungs are full but everything’s misplaced
And these junkyard dogs
These cherry bombs, go off

The sun, the sky, the moon
Will fall apart
Come tumbling down just like a house of cards
These fire escapes and this lush landscape
It fades

When all these walls come down
They’ll shake us
We fight not to be
Not to be weightless

Oh when all these stars hit ground
They’ll wake us
We fight not to be
Not to be weightless
Weightless

I can feel this heavyweight
Hanging around my neck
I can feel your heartbeat
Bringing me back
Back again

When all these walls come down
They’ll shake us
We fight not to be
Not to be weightless

Oh when all these stars hit ground
They’ll wake us
We fight not to be
Not to be weightless
Weightless
Weightless

This may be the best thing they’ve done in years.  Musically there’s a real fire-in-the-belly feel to it.  I really love the gear switches and full stop three-quarters through.  I found myself attached to the drum beats in this.  Really hit the core.

Lyrically I think there is a lot going on.  It has the feel of relationship in the throes of a rocky road.  But truly I think this song is about society today.  The environment, the economy and the politics of lies that pervade every aspect of our lives.  I feel like they are screaming out to hang on, don’t get taken up in the madness of the bullshit we are fed.  Hang on until it all comes crashing down around us.  And it will.

Don’t be weightless.  Don’t get taken up in the fear and propaganda.  Make sure YOU mean something because you do.  Fight it.  Every fucking day, fight it.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heavyweight – Our Lady Peace

  1. nick says:

    Love OLP! Been listening to them since i was like 14. Too bad they never play any shows outside North-America anymore 😦

Leave a Reply

